Singapore GP
Singapore hosts their first F1 race. i feel like doing an article. but with no photos or on site interviews, i'm gonna take material from other places. but not now. first, the highlights. crudely put. i'll quote the commentators to describe the incident, with an accompanying image.
NELSINHO PIQUET'S CRASH [Renault]
"...got a faster car, lewis'..."
"OH BIG CRASH. That's Nelsinho Piquet!"
Following this crash, the safety car came out and two cars incurred penalties, as they were forced by lack of fuel to pit, when the pits where closed. this is the crash that would change the entire race.MASSA PIT INCIDENT [Ferrari]
"...took more fuel in there, and tak..."
"OH NO THAT'S A BIG MISTAKE, MASSA'S GONE, NOT FOR THE FIRST TIME, FERRARI'S LIGHTED SYSTEM ON THEIR RELEASE... HE'S TAKEN THE HOSE WITH HIM AS WELL I THINK, THEY'VE GOT THE SPARE HOSE READY AND THAT IS THE RACE LEADER, FILIPE MASSA WHO HAS MADE A CATASTROPHIC MISTAKE, HERE IN SINGAPORE, AND IT MAY WELL COST HIM THE GRAND PRIX... FERRARI! A touch on the tires, in frustration. Its happened again, for ferrari."
"Well, Massa's down, if they take the fuel hose off..."
Massa was in first position when he entered. apparantly, the indicator lights told him to go, but the fuel hose was still locked in. Massa had to stop at the end of the pit, while he waited for the pit crew to run to him and yank the fuel hose out, which was, dramatically, jammed. Massa rejoined the race in last place.amidst the chaos, hamilton had fallen from 2nd to 8th place, and Rosberg was leading the race. Fernando Alonso, who was most promising during the practice and qualifier sessions, had moved from his starting position of 15th to 5th.
The complicated scenario saw Toyota's Jarno Trulli in the lead on lap 28 but without having pitted with Alonso second, Rosberg third and Hamilton charging in sixth.
With Trulli taking his first pit stop soon after Alonso amazingly found himself in front just after the halfway mark with a 4.9 second lead over Rosberg.
When David Coulthard pitted soon after, he too drove off with the fuel pipe attached, knocking over a mechanic who was stretchered off with an injured ankle.
ADRIAN SUTIL AND MASSA ON TURN 18 [Force India]
"... and Massa pulls... OH"
"OH"
"Water on the track there, and what happens is those safety barriers, the crash barriers there, tend to get water in..."
Massa slides into the crash barrier prior, and sends a bit of water on to the track. as massa pulls away, adrian sutil comes in and misses the turn, losing grip slightly, crashing into the barrier. the car's front brakes catch fire, but the flames are quickly extinguished. a safety car is dispatched, and this brings alonso's 30 second lead down to less than 5 seconds.FERRARI GETS ELIMINATED AT TURN 10 [Kimi Raikkonen]
"...Ferrari team driving away with the fuel hose attached; the reason for that, if you're just joining... OH"
"OH ITS THE WALL"
"Right into the wall"
"Goes the Ferrari, of Kimi Raikkonen, from 5th place, so its gonna be no points for Ferrari here."
"He caught those curbs, those concrete chunks on the curbs. Put him into the air slightly. He really hit them badly, just launched off the final one..."
Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari's last hope of scoring anything on this track, crashes into the barrier with only four laps to go. at this point, with massa far behind, Ferrari's hopes for this race have been crushed.ALONSO WINS SINGAPOREGP [Renault]
"...his first victory of the season, and Renault's first win of the season, and the twentieth, of the man's career... Fernando Alonso coming through, to take the checkered flag and claim a very, very well deserved victory in formula one's first ever night race. Second is Rosberg..."

And thus ends the Singapore GP.
Now, the scores.

sigh. poor Massa. the internet will show him no mercy. poor ferrari.
also, david coulthard looks like david hasselhoff. just saying.
[EDIT: Edited 'Gran Prix' to 'Grand Prix']
3 comments:
btw, it's Grand Prix. not Gran Prix
David Coulthaud is old school,needs to retire.
omg i so said the same thing about david coulthaud in my post!
Post a Comment