Monday, September 29, 2008

Singapore Grand Prix

Singapore GP

Singapore hosts their first F1 race. i feel like doing an article. but with no photos or on site interviews, i'm gonna take material from other places. but not now. first, the highlights. crudely put. i'll quote the commentators to describe the incident, with an accompanying image.

NELSINHO PIQUET'S CRASH [Renault]

"...got a faster car, lewis'..."

"OH BIG CRASH. That's Nelsinho Piquet!"


Following this crash, the safety car came out and two cars incurred penalties, as they were forced by lack of fuel to pit, when the pits where closed. this is the crash that would change the entire race.

MASSA PIT INCIDENT [Ferrari]

"...took more fuel in there, and tak..."

"OH NO THAT'S A BIG MISTAKE, MASSA'S GONE, NOT FOR THE FIRST TIME, FERRARI'S LIGHTED SYSTEM ON THEIR RELEASE... HE'S TAKEN THE HOSE WITH HIM AS WELL I THINK, THEY'VE GOT THE SPARE HOSE READY AND THAT IS THE RACE LEADER, FILIPE MASSA WHO HAS MADE A CATASTROPHIC MISTAKE, HERE IN SINGAPORE, AND IT MAY WELL COST HIM THE GRAND PRIX... FERRARI! A touch on the tires, in frustration. Its happened again, for ferrari."

"Well, Massa's down, if they take the fuel hose off..."


Massa was in first position when he entered. apparantly, the indicator lights told him to go, but the fuel hose was still locked in. Massa had to stop at the end of the pit, while he waited for the pit crew to run to him and yank the fuel hose out, which was, dramatically, jammed. Massa rejoined the race in last place.

amidst the chaos, hamilton had fallen from 2nd to 8th place, and Rosberg was leading the race. Fernando Alonso, who was most promising during the practice and qualifier sessions, had moved from his starting position of 15th to 5th.

The complicated scenario saw Toyota's Jarno Trulli in the lead on lap 28 but without having pitted with Alonso second, Rosberg third and Hamilton charging in sixth.

With Trulli taking his first pit stop soon after Alonso amazingly found himself in front just after the halfway mark with a 4.9 second lead over Rosberg.

When David Coulthard pitted soon after, he too drove off with the fuel pipe attached, knocking over a mechanic who was stretchered off with an injured ankle.

ADRIAN SUTIL AND MASSA ON TURN 18 [Force India]

"... and Massa pulls... OH"

"OH"

"Water on the track there, and what happens is those safety barriers, the crash barriers there, tend to get water in..."


Massa slides into the crash barrier prior, and sends a bit of water on to the track. as massa pulls away, adrian sutil comes in and misses the turn, losing grip slightly, crashing into the barrier. the car's front brakes catch fire, but the flames are quickly extinguished. a safety car is dispatched, and this brings alonso's 30 second lead down to less than 5 seconds.

FERRARI GETS ELIMINATED AT TURN 10 [Kimi Raikkonen]

"...Ferrari team driving away with the fuel hose attached; the reason for that, if you're just joining... OH"

"OH ITS THE WALL"

"Right into the wall"

"Goes the Ferrari, of Kimi Raikkonen, from 5th place, so its gonna be no points for Ferrari here."

"He caught those curbs, those concrete chunks on the curbs. Put him into the air slightly. He really hit them badly, just launched off the final one..."


Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari's last hope of scoring anything on this track, crashes into the barrier with only four laps to go. at this point, with massa far behind, Ferrari's hopes for this race have been crushed.

ALONSO WINS SINGAPOREGP [Renault]

"...his first victory of the season, and Renault's first win of the season, and the twentieth, of the man's career... Fernando Alonso coming through, to take the checkered flag and claim a very, very well deserved victory in formula one's first ever night race. Second is Rosberg..."



And thus ends the Singapore GP.

Now, the scores.


sigh. poor Massa. the internet will show him no mercy. poor ferrari.

also, david coulthard looks like david hasselhoff. just saying.

[EDIT: Edited 'Gran Prix' to 'Grand Prix']

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Saturday, September 20, 2008

bumpity bump

this is a shameless bump. much like one in a forum, when you want to keep your thread at the top of the page. this is where i put a post to let you guys know that i still want to continue the blog and need my readers to stay. so i basically just bullshit my way through.

so stuff went through the head. namely, the word 'must'. what is it? its not exactly a verb is it? i mean. a verb would be like: "I ran quickly to the other side"

but then you don't put two verbs together. you don't say: "I ran jumped quickly to the other side"

see it doesn't work. so i'm sure you all know 'be' is a verb. so, consider the following:

"I MUST be hungry"

in bold is the word in question. in italics, the verb. so there. you CAN'T put two verbs next to each other. doesn't work. so i have proven that MUST isn't a verb.


'MUST' IS NOT AN ADVERB

An adverb is a word that describes a verb. For example: "He ran quickly past the armed guards"

"Must" does not describe a verb. while it provides condition, you cannot do something 'mustily'.


'MUST' IS NOT A NOUN

though it may seem like, with colloquial sentences such as: "This is a MUST"

must is not a noun. a noun describes a being. tangible or intangible. you cannot grasp a MUST. even so, the context of must used in the above scenario does not match our own.


one of my msn windows just told me that it may be a subjunctive.

subjunctive is a new word for me.

a google, a wikipedia, a wikitionary and an altavista later, i gathered that a subjunctive is a type of verb. therefore, it does not work. [i feel like saying Q.E.D, but it would not mean anythiing here]

look it up yourself. my fingers ache.

and then there's how 'must' isn't an adjective. and i'm too tired to carry on. i just finished artemis fowl and the lost colony. i just got it earlier in the night. [20:00? 23:00?]and its 4:47 am here.

phooey. lol my bump is something else now. [he muses at the thought]

Sunday, September 14, 2008

Jack Ass

Get this. you guys know jackass right? i just watched Jackass 2.0 last night. it was uh. nice. not gonna do a full review, just some thoughts i had on it.

so yeah. it was fairly disgusting, it was fairly interesting, but it was fucking funny. hahaha. it will make an awesome party movie. imagine that. 10 drunk teens watching other drunk people do stupid, painful, humiliating stuff. imagine the chaos.

so yeah. anyway after which i did some research into the show [i do that after every movie] and i found out an interesting tidbit. get this. apparantly this guy sued jackass for plaigiarism. he claims that jackass stole his name and used it for their own profit. guess what his name was.

Jack Ass.

haha. he had it changed because he drunk drived and got someone killed i think. can't remember the details. so he changed his name to Jack Ass. i'd laugh but thats just mean.

Saturday, September 13, 2008

of wind and darkness

okay a few things with this post.

1: Hurricane Ike
2: The appeal of late nights.

one thing i need to get off my chest, and one thing to keep you guys interested. alright. lets begin, if i may.

HURRICANE IKE

since we're in singapore here, i don't know how many of you know about hurricane ike right now. at this very moment its ripping into the houston bay area, it just hit inland on galveston. i'm sure most of you know the calm area in the center is the eye. now the winds around that eye are probably the strongest. have a look:





this is the current situation in galveston. i wasn't even paying attention to what they said just see the winds that are hitting the place. the eyewall hasn't even hit yet. earlier this morning [for GMT+8] the water was rising and winds were picking up but now the bulk of is over it.




this was what we were seeing last night. [GMT+8 again] this was before the hurricane hit hard. people were still evacuating. and by the way, its unlikely but if anyone is reading this there and can't get into CNN [heavy traffic, some can't connect]; CNN has told people to stay in their homes. at this point, closer up to sugarland, it is now safer to STAY IN YOUR HOMES than try to evacuate. the house will hold up better than your car. the hurricane is at this point in time moving at 12 mph. winds are 110mph. i have relatives there in sugarland, including my dad. we [edit] just made [/edit] contact.



one more thing. thats clearlake. my old home is supposed to be there. the hurricane isn't even there yet. the floods are already up. sigh. okay.

THE APPEAL OF LATE NIGHTS TO TEENS

so i was thinking about this awhile back. so many people i know like to stay up late at night, and wake up late. and alot of people i know also believe this is bad. the trend is that those who like staying up tend to be 15-25, and those who don't are usually older.

so teens like to stay up late at night to do stuff. why? alot of us just stay up without really acknowledging the true reason why we stay up late. so a few showers and i've come up with this. i think we are attracted to the freedom of staying up late. no one is around to tell you to do anything.

in the day, you could be trying to do something like, research for a blog post, playing a video game, finding out information, and you're more likely to be interrupted. go do the dishes. come help me with this. stop spending so much time infront of the computer.

at night its different. your figure of authority is most likely asleep. you are alone. you get to do whatever you want. game for hours on end. surf the net. for hours. midnight, to even 5am. i know many. the appeal of late nights: freedom.

so there you have it. haha.

more to come. i'm not leaving this blog to die. [readers please come back?]

Thursday, September 11, 2008

that feeling

why hello there.

you know that feeling, like. when you haven't heard for someone for so long that you're so close to thinking that they've fallen down a well in the middle of nowhere, then suddenly they text you sayin 'hey, remember me? how've you been?"


can't remember where i got that from, but lol. just texted an old friend, saying EXACTLY that. lol.

anyway. unamedproject01 is not giong smoothly. the team has yet to be assembled. sometimes its so difficult to find quality team mates. its almost cryptic. but eitherway, the current team is still going strong. we've managed to push good into our first project. pretty much got most of the layout and structure down. just need to make it beautiful and refine some stuff. so i got to make sure we get a placing for the location, gonna get more done soon.

i doubt anyone of you knew what i just said and hence cannot relate. hahaha. something interesting coming soon, i promise. lol. i'm NOT dead

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

An overview for the night

Okay. its uh. the morning of September 03, 2008, 01:38AM, and i'll be doing 4 posts today, uh tonight. uh morning. whatever. anyway, all these posts are gonna be wordy, and it'd be great if you really read all of it. so if you're tired or anything i don't recommend you read this now.


just a picture here to keep you interested [PSA building smack in the center. (:]

i've been told to blog about my flying experience, just to say first, don't expect too much from it, lest you be disappointed by my post.

just read kenneth's Hysteria's call part one and two, and its come to my mind to write a spinoff narrative, to tie in nicely with his. a fun contrast. in my own style.

i've got one old narrative i found lying around, which i'll be posting up for your perusal. i never finished it. maybe you can convince me to. haha.

and then there's this overview post i'm writing right now. hm. i think i'll post this last so you guys are aware that there's more than one new post written below. haha. okay then. time to get started.

Taxi, Part 1

Just read kenneth's Hysteria's call and felt i needed to write something. i'm not happy with it at all. i hate following work and this is a horrible piece of writing. so don't judge me based off it. i don't know how many of you will find it readable or interesting, but i think what you really really want to read is at the 02:00PM mark. thats where it ties up. so yeah. i kind of forgot about the kids later on and ran out of things to say. about at the 09:50AM point i'm bored and just want to get to the 02:00PM mark haha. meh. well here you go.

[divider here]

Images of peacefulness and bliss were shaken from Hassan’s mind, as the incessant vibrating of his cell phone alarm shook him awake. The urge to hurl it out the window quickly passed as he thought about the countless hours he had spent working overtime to get it in the first place.

Work!

He looked at the time. 6:30AM. Perfect. The kids would be up anytime soon, the wife had already left for work at the docks down south, and there was no breakfast on the table.

He cursed quietly as he pulled on his one presentable pair of clothes, and prepared two peanut butter sandwiches, literally with all 4 of his limbs.


6:50AM.


He did some last checks, food on the table; check. Kid’s bus passes, check. Lunch boxes prepared, check. Taxi keys in pocket, check. Everything was good. And so he left the children, locking the door to his single bedroom apartment; if you count the living room as a bedroom.


7:00AM.


He pulled the ignition and eased the cab out of the tight space. Parallel parking in New York City was never pleasant. A train shot past overhead, upon the rail system that practically created a roof over the entire avenue.

He pulled out of the lot just in time to have his bumper nicked by a beat up Trans Am.

‘Sigh. Life is never great for an immigrant,’ he mumbled to himself. He pulled away quickly, leaving the two heavy-set African American men no choice but to let him go.


8:00AM.


Now away from the tight confines of the Brooklyn transport system, he found himself looking up at the dark clouds amassing up above.

“Looks like it’s going to rain hard today huh?” he said, trying to make conversation with his first fare.

He was obviously disinterested.

“Won’t do much good for traffic either,” Hassan said, quietly now.

Not much could happen to change the state of traffic over the Brooklyn Bridge. It was a constant cacophony of car horns and angry interns. He checked his watch. 8:15AM. He needed to be at the pizza parlor by nine. He sighed as he leaned out his window.

“C’mon! Let’s get this traffic moving huh?! What’s the freaking hold-up?!”


9:15AM.


“Ah Saddam or Husain or whatever… It’s 9.15, next time you don’t want your job call in advance so I can get Sanchez or whatever here to do it, Okay? We have a schedule you know?”

“Its Hassan, I’ve told you that before. And it’s just 15 minutes, c’mon. Alright what have you got for me?”

“3 Pies; Big building in the center of Broadway and Seventh.”

“Just say Times Square”

“BROADWAY AND SEVENTH.”

“Yeah, whatever. So it’s the police post in the center of Times Square right?”

“It’s BROADWAY AND SEVENTH! Now GO!”

He took the pies and left. He worked full time as a cab driver, but he delivered Pizzas for an ‘Uncle Italiano’s Pizza Parlor’ for extra cash on the side. At the same time he was a telemarketer, making calls while driving. But that was only on weekends.

The skies unleashed their torrent of rain just as Hassan entered his cab. He was in Lower Manhattan near Seward Park. He turned a sharp right to face North East, in the direction of Uptown Manhattan and stopped to pick up a fare.

“ABC, Times Square, and make it fast”

Hassan smiled; He was a big believer of something he called Signs. Anyone who took a ride in his taxi would know. He believed that everything happened for a reason. He believed that his man going to Times Square proved that the pizzas were going to be good.

“Yessir. Have you heard of signs sir?”


09:45AM.


“3 Pies. That’ll be fifty big ones.”

The cop mumbled something and coughed up fifty dollars flat.

“No tip?” Hassan asked. The door shut.

“What kind of weirdo eats pizzas in the morning anyway?” He spoke, more to himself than anybody else.

Alone in his cab now, he started practicing his English.

“Moist carpets and frayed curtains fringed the interior of the small café.”

It wasn’t as if it wasn’t great already: he had near flawless vocabulary, great grammar.

“Moist carpets and frayed curtains fringed the interior of the small café.”

Probably the only problem was his accent. He had a strong Middle Eastern accent.

“Moist carpets and frayed curtains fringed the interior of the small café.” He repeated.

The rain had grown stronger. He started to worry abit for his wife. The south piers were prone to flooding.

His train of thoughts stopped with the cab, to pick up another fare.

“Hi good morning sir. Whe-“

“Wall Street.”

“Yessir. How do you think your day will turn out?”

“Horrible. Can you just drive?”

“Maybe it’s a sign sir?”


01:30PM.


5 Fares and 4 Pizzas later, Hassan pulled over on a road within central park. He had been frantically trying to call his wife. The radio had confirmed reports of flooding in the south piers, and his wife had not answered her phone.

Before he could begin to really worry about it though, an old lady hiding under an umbrella had started knocking on his window, at the same time clutching tightly on to a large clear plastic bag full of what appeared to be dried leaves.

He massaged his temples quickly and looked at her smiling. Always look good for your customers.

“Hi good afternoon ma’am. Can I help you with that?”

The old lady hefted the large bag of leaves onto the cab. It was quite obvious she went to great lengths to keep them dry. Duct tape sealed all but one cut opened. It was clear her objective was to get the leaves in a nice dry place.

Hassan was obviously curious, but he didn’t pry.

“Where are you going ma’am?”

She didn’t say anything much, instead she took out a postcard and poked repeatedly on the ‘wall street’ sign with her stubby finger.

“Yesma’am. Can I tell you about some other kinds of signs ma’am?”


02:00PM.


He left the lady behind, but the stench of dried leaves stayed.

‘Now that is gonna be hell to clean,’ He thought to himself.

Driving slowly now, he gave up trying to call his wife. Radio news had reported cuts in communication in the area. No one really knew what was happening but the rain was really screwing things up everywhere. He was about to head back to pick up more pizzas when he spotted another fare.

The man looked important, in a business suit with red tie, and looked slightly pale as he got in.

“There’s a Starbuck’s next to this pizza store in Lower Manhattan.”

“I know the place. Going out in this violent storm, sir?” Hassan smiled to himself. The signs were good.

The man didn’t reply.

"I hear that the south pier has flooded from all this rain and people are trapped. Communications have been cut off and people are stranded. I sure hope my wife brought her cell phone with her, been trying for ages to call her."

The man kept really quiet as he fiddled with his coat and adjusted his cuffs.

“Maybe it’s not such a good idea to be out with the weather like that. Maybe it’s a sign you know.”

The man was obviously not interested, but Hassan went on anyway; business as usual.

“Like how sometimes things just keep getting in your way, maybe you’re just not meant to do something right?”

Hassan turned a sharp turn and the engine fizzled to a dead silence.

Ah shit, not now!

“I’m very sorry sir; I can fix this right now.”

The man ignored him, shoved a 50 dollar note in his face and left the cab.

“Sir, wait! Remember the signs!”

It wasn’t far anyway. It was about two blocks down. The man rallied his umbrella and walked in the direction of the café, away from view.

Hassan looked at the meter.

$8.40.

Then back at the $50 note in his hand.

Shrugging to himself, “Ah maybe is not so bad sign after all.”

He pulled out an umbrella and climbed out of the cab to diagnose the problem.


[-END-]

So there you have it. enjoy. haha. again, no intention to continue it, but i'm interested to see one from the Leaf lady's P-O-V. i was thinking maybe the plot could be not about any of these people but about the storm. but that all depends on Hysteria's Call part 3. so yeah. we'll wait and see.

Cessna Skyhawk

okay. the flight. i don't have much to say. about it. hm. lets see. lets just say this. flying a plane isn't rocket science. but that doesn't mean just anyone can do it. lets just say that it didn't feel like i was doing much. the laws of physics pretty much flew the plane for me. i could go into detail but that'd be boring and no one wants that. haha.

so okay. for me, flying the plane was very much like for my mom and wesley. it was kind of like sitting back and sight seeing. i don't know. you can just leave a plane to itself and it'll just go straight and level. just a few tweaks and a bit here and there. details details. haha. of course you got to set the defaults and stuff that.. that. thing i don't know what its called. ergh. pilots will know what i'm saying. that thing that keeps the pitch of the plane set to a certain degree so that you don't need to continually hold the uh. steering wheel? joystick? thing pulled back. haha.

so yeah. with the experienced darshan there, everything was smooth and fun.its quite difficult to describe what it was like to fly. for those who use simulators, lets just say its almost EXACTLY THE SAME. the only thing you don't get is that rush of excitement when the wind rushes into the cockpit, when the plane hits the ground. when the plane banks for a turn [30-deg ftw] its indescribable.

most of the experience is on my mum's blog, so check it out. i've got nothing much more to say. pictures and all are on my mum's blog, video of the takeoff and landing [must watch the landing at least haha] are there too. can't upload on this side cuz i don't want to hog bandwidth.

[NB: picture has abit of NYP in it! top right corner!]

we traversed singapore alot faster than any car. everything was so damn insignificant lol.

Longest, Part 1

okay, i found my stash of writings and narratives while cleaning up for the party, and found something i wrote that i'd like to show off. its only the first bit and i never continued it. maybe you can convince me to.

here goes:

[divider here]


Sam walked along the street, his leather jacket zipped up against the cold. His long face was drawn and pale. His big eyes were as black as the jeans he wore. He walked in a fast striding motion.

The street ran from Heidelberg Road down to the Yarra river, which lay at the end of the street, snaking its yellow way to the bay. Plane trees' last leaves clung to the branches. The crisp tan leaves that had fallen lay in the deep gutter waiting for the rains.

A heavy wind blew down the street., its howling sonata a bidding warning to Sam; Whispering, persuading him to return.

A cat awakens, gray, dishevelled: startled by Sam's footsteps. It looked upon him disapprovingly for a moment, sizing him up. Quickly losing interest, it returned to its deep slumber.

At last. Sam sighed heavily as he looked upon the house. Was he doing the right thing? Sighing again, he stepped forward and put his finger to the bell.

There was no turning back now.

He depressed the switch.



The door opened just a crack, letting in a thin beam of light: a stark contrast against the dark corridor beyond. A small head poked through the gap. Her eyes were red and her make-up had run.

"How're you holding up?" Sam asked.

"Not too good." She shifted, opening the door.

"Come in, its cold out."

And Sam crossed the threshold.



"Can i get you anything to drink?" She asked softly, turning to head to the kitchen.

"I'm fine. Does Shawn know yet?" Sam pressed.

"No. I can't tell him."

"Why not?" Sam asked, at the same time observing the discarded bottles of hard liquor and wine strewn across the kitchen floor.

"I... I can't. We both know what'll happen."

A moment of silence. She looked longingly at another bottle of gin.

"You shouldn't be drinking so much."

The words were lost to the wind as she opened the bottle and took a large swig. She looked fragile and helpless to Sam then, as she cringed from the burn of the alcohol. Even so, she was still beautiful. She always had been. From the time they played together in the neighborhood playground, to their time spent in higher education together. A dull ache returned to Sam. The more he thought of it, the more he hated himself for not being able to "man up" and admit that he was in love.

A sharp gag brought sam back to the situation at hand. She was clearly not a drinker, it was obvious how drastic the situation was.

"C'mon. lets get you somewhere else. Away from all this alcohol." Sam said. Pulling her up and to the door.

"No. No... Sam," She pulled her arm free.

"Just leave me, I'll be fine."

Sam wasn't convinced. "No. Come on. Just a while."

"I'm sorry."

"Don't be, just... Just come on. You'll thank me later." He forced a smile, a futile attempt to lighten the mood, as he pulled her out the door.



[-END-]

There you have it. I couldn't help but do some minor editing while transcribing it. grammer, etc. there was alot of brands mentioned in the original which i took away. some minor sentence removals and additions, made it alot easier to continue if i wanted to.

just going to say on a side note, if you were looking for some form of closure anywhere from tonight's posts, you won't get any. haha. i have no intention of finishing anything tonight. as in. i'll be starting stories but you won't get the end. and stuff. eeyurgh. haha.

oh shit i need a title. lets see... lol. "man enough" came up for awhile. nono. lets see. there seems to be alot of regretting in the story. but regret is a horribly cliched name. remorse is too. sigh. hmm. longest. how's that. it kinda describes how i expect this story to turn out. i don't expect much though. its turning really cliche, like one of those channel 8 dramas. not looking forward to continuing it. but meh. we'll see.