Thursday, December 27, 2007

it said meow.

The lotus elise is gone.

but i found a cat.



I tried to talk to it, but it ignored me. i know you're thinking: but cats dont talk. yeah i know. i mean, it didnt even bother to look at me when i talked to it. it was wary of me at first, but then it labelled me harmless, then COMPLETELY ignored me. except for the occasional glare.

I saw it when kenneth made me let kenneth into the estate. (i think if i used "him" you'd think it was the cat.) KENNETH wanted to SURPRISE someone. but SOMEONE didn't let him UP INTO her BLOCK.

HA. KENNETH.

anyway. they ended up on the phone. for 45 MINUTES. then he left. while on the phone. at the same time, we bumped into men shing, WHO WAS ALSO ON THE PHONE. so i flipped open my phone and pretended to talk to someone.

ANYWAY. Apparantly, the cat is responsible for scaring KENNETH's significant other, so KENNETH went, and SCARED the cat. so the cat got scared, and SLIPPED INTO MY SHIRT. but then it jumped out because it realised i wasn't a curtain. or something. then it glared at me. ingrate.


ANYWAY AGAIN. i went for my job training just now. but i have a cold, so im not going to type anymore. maybe tomorrow, after my QSM training. (Quality Service Management)

kthxbai.

Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 Random Things

I was lying on my bed, thinking of what to put on my blog later tonight, and i just lay there, then i thought, maybe something random. but not flying out of a turtle suspended in mid air by a gigantic shopping cart kind of random, i wanted something different. so i came up with a little list of random things.

#1: Random Song I Sang In The Shower Today:

Far Away, by Nickelback. I only sang the chorus though, and really softly, because i was afraid my house mates might hear me. i think i hit the tune okay though.

#2: Random Thing My Mother Did Today:


Nagged at me to go take a shower.

#3: Three Random Items Sitting On My Desk Right Now:


A Rubik's Cube, recently solved, by yours truly.
A Yoyo, whose string has been recently snapped, again, by yours truly.
A Red Paperweight, that has sat unmoved for years.


#4: Random Quote From Random Digital Media:
"KNOCK DOWN TREES WITH YOUR JUMBO COCK!!!!"
Its the subject for a Penis Enlargement Ad. I don't know how they got my email address, but I saw that in my Gmail inbox while waiting for imeem to send me the confirmation for the next item on my list.

#5: Random Song I Played On A Random Instrument:


I did this on my guitar. just one guitar, but i recorded over myself. i improvised it, so i can't recreate it, and there are prolly some parts that dont sound right. mebbe i'll do a better one another time. NB: Listen to it with head phones. i tweaked the LR Balance, so close your eyes and ignore the buzzing sound. apart from the buzzy thing, i think its good.

#6: Random Page from a Random Book:


Its sideways. I don't know why. I know how to fix it but im lazy. psh. Anyway, its tablature for Canon in D, which leads me to come up with the next Random thing:

#7: Two Random Songs I've Been Obsessed With:

Canon in D, Composed by Johann Pachelbel

Far Away, by Nickelback

#8: Random Thing I Saw On My Way Out Of The House Recently:

Its a Lotus Elise. Parked in my Estate. Isnt she a beauty? I have a few more pictures, but this is the best angle.

#9: Random Thing On My Mind Right Now:

My feet are cold.

#10: Random Request To My Readers:

It would be great to see someone else's answers to these questions, and re-reading this, i get the feeling people will doubt me, so i assure you, I CAME UP WITH THESE, i did not copy them from anywhere anytime. THEY CAME FROM MY HEAD. okay bye now.



P.S: I have blue and clear versions of that red paperweight too.

Thursday, December 20, 2007

First Post

i just realised this is the first post on my blog that i put up when the sun is still up. all my other posts are around midnite and stuffs/ lol. so anyway.

i finally bought jeans. and a shirt. i thought i'd upload pictures, but maybe i'll hold them off until i've worn them out first. that'll be interesting. no spoiling the surprise. who'd ever think i'd buy jeans? lol i've been anti-jeans for god knows how long..

hm

i don't know what else to type

um.
prolly something about it being daytime. im gonna go do something else. lol

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

At Long Last..

I finally did it. I got a job.


found it in the papers, then responded to the ad. didnt know what i was doing at first, it just said customer service, no company nothing, so yeah. today, i went to apollo centre to apply for it. apparantly i will be guiding people around the airport, i.e 'hello sir, do you need help getting around? where are you trying to go? i see, here, you want to go towards the mc donalds and keep going straight."

sounds pretty fun. im working for caas too, i think there are benefits there, but im not sure.. anyway, the guy told me to choose a shift. they had 4. i chose shift 1 and four. that means, i'll be working from 12 am to 6 am (shift 4) then 6am to 12pm (shift 1). well, i marked out that i'd prefer then, i dunno if they'll give me the full 12 hours though, i could use the extra cash. they had free transport for shifts one and three, but i start at shift four, so yeah. no transport for me. pah. who needs transport. lol.

so there you have it. i can't think of what to review next, why don't you drop a comment, tell me what you want to see on my blog. i'll do my best to put it on.

EDIT: i just finished reading something that im wishing i didnt. it may not be so bad though, thanks to that, i finally got some words for a tune that we put to long's chords. it goes something like this:

Verse 1

Each day,
I tread down
your way.
Hoping to see if you can

Give me
that hope to
go on,
i fear today you've gone

PRECHORUS

too far,
you don't even know that
I hurt,
(8 syllables here)

CHORUS

yeah. i can't continue it yet, i got the tune for it, there are the words, i don;t know if the band will take it though, its kinda emo. but oh well. we'll see how it goes.

Friday, December 14, 2007

Pure Genius.

My mum is the ultimate persuader. She guilted me into following her to gym today.. uh yesterday. it was harsh.

it was at planet fitness, i thought; pah, its just two hours. how hard can it be?

i was so wrong. the first course/lesson thing was what they called Combat Yoga. its basically Yoga, but a bit more fast paced, with some kick boxing elements added in. like: [quote instructor]

Let me see your cobra, okay, swing your left leg forward, warrior stance, and.. guard. okay ready. right leg forward, do this: (demonstrates) right jab, cross, jab, round house. good. repeat.. 4 more counts. 2 more to go, one last one, and.. warrior.


etcetc. it was harsh enough. holding yourself in said stances are amazingly difficult. for example, let me show you an illustration of the different poses we had to hold. try them. then you'll understand.


This is the Bow Pose. basically, you lie flat, pull your legs up, then grab it with your hands. then you lift up your chest and your knees, while trying to hold your thighs together. good luck. this is a hard one.


This is the Warrior Pose. looks easy? try it. whichever leg is behind you, its heel may not touch the ground. it may be easy at first, but we had to hold it for a loong time. try it. no cheating, hold your arms straight over your head, close to your ears.


this is the Triangle Pose. i don't know why they call it the triangle pose. it doesnt even look like a triangle. anyway, you get here form your warrior pose. basically, your hands come forward (thats a relief) then you touch the floor/ankle/shin, depending on whether you have hamstrings, then turn to a side, bringing one hand up straight above your head. yup. hold your hand there again.


ah. the half moon. this is not easy at all. from your triangle, while holding your arm in the air, twiddle forward. (yes, twiddle. i dont know what that means, it just sounds right.) twiddle forward until your floor arm is in front of you. for normal people who have hamstrings, you can bend your leg. then, slowly lift up your back leg such that you are balancing on a foot and a hand. hold it there for 10 more counts.




Alas, now that you're done, do the whole thing all over again, but for the other side. i.e right instead of left.



so had enough of combat yoga yet? okay. on to boot camp. yes, thats what the class is called. its called boot camp, and it is nothing like a boot camp. (boot camps are easier.)

The class starts out with you marching on the spot, and to emphasize how difficult the program is, i will include a log of what the instructor says, along with my thoughts.

ready? go.

(Club mix song is heard with a steady beat)
Over-Enthusiastic Instructor (OEI): "Okay hello everyone, welcome to boot camp. lets go, march, on the spot. go!"


I begin to march, arms stiffly by my side, to the beat of the song

OEI: "eh c'mon lah. swing your arms enthu abit leh, this is not the army!"

I continue to march, arms still by my side, limp.

OEI:(to class)" okay ready step touch, go!"

Me(Thinking):"whats a step touch?"

everyone else is a regular, so they start step touching.

Me: ah, there you go, step touches. (step touches are wear you step your right leg to the right, touch it with your left foot, bring your left leg to the left, touch with your right foot, repeat.)

OEI: (in time with the song) "aaand march.. (time lapse) aand step touch. (time lapse) aaaand... march on the spot, ready, steps,"

at this point we step up and down a "step" that we previously placed infront of us. its like an artificial staircase step, so we can do step ups.

OEI starts counting, i.e: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 step, 1,2,3, march 5,6,7, step... etc. alternating between stepping, marching, and step touching.

at this point, OEI's enthusiasm has caught on to me and i think. hey, boot camp isnt so tough, look i can do what you can do!!! and i start smiling and stepping and bouncing to the beat. i continue to think: see? good music makes anything bearable. then i think hey, boot camp is fun!

i almost continue to think of more ways to emphasize how fun boot camp is, but i am interrupted by the OEI.

OEI: okay everyone ready, and left leg on the step, and single squats go!

at this point, we all put one leg on our raised steps, and do squats

8 squats later, i think wow. that was intersting, whats next? and i begin to get off the step,

OEI: bottom half!

everyone stays on the steps and does half squats. no, half squats are not easier. bottom half means this: okay. uh. let me teach you how to do it. its easier that way.find a slightly raised surface, put one leg on it, do a squat, but not all the way down. just half way down, choosing a point whereby it is moth uncomfortable and unnatural to stay in. this is your go-to point. from here, do squats, but don't go back to the fully standing position, only half squat from your go-to point, down, go-to point, down. etc.

i join in. and i realise: JESUS CHRIST THIS IS HARD.

after 8 counts (btw, for the half squats, and essentially all half manouvers, each count is twice as long and we spend more time in our go-to point.)

OEI: "single squats! carry on, 2nd set!"

back to single squats

ME(thinking): WHY ARENT WE DONE YET?

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!

8 counts later

OEI: 2 more sets, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!

8 counts later

OEI: Last set, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!!!1!

8 counts later

ME: (thinking) FINALLY

OEI: Right heel off the ground, aaaand, SQUAT!

here, we do this really painful thing, where we do standard squats ( with the exception of the left leg on the raised platform) but standing on the tips of your toes on your right foot. this really hurts. try following this.

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF

(yes, we do the half squat for this too. keep that heel in the air.)

8 counts later

OEI: 3 more sets, and SINGLE SQUATS!! keep that heel in the air, do not break your momentum! Just imagine you wearing high heels! for the guys can only imagine lah, unless you got wear before, lol

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF

8 counts later

OEI: 2 more sets, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!

8 counts later

OEI: Last set, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!!!1!

8 counts later

ME: OHMYGODWHYDIDITAKETHECLASSMYCALFISBURNINGHALPMEPLZOMGWHY

OEI: Aaaand, hold that squat (stay in go-to point)

OEI: okay, alternate heels!

this is where we hold that half squat, and alternate which heel goes up or down.

OEI: Aaand, right leg on the step!

here we repeat the whole thing, right down to the alternate heel part, all for the other leg. so, following me so far?

(timelapse)

OEI: okay! BOTH HEELS UP!

ME: dies.

OEI: and SQUAT

yes. we do 4 sets of squats and half squats for that too.

timelapse

my god, i'm bored. are you bored? did you try it? if you did, you prolly can't read this. prolly lying on the floor somewhere. any way, after that, we did some arm muscle thing involving resistance belts, which also involved 4 sets of singles and halfs times 5 multiplied by both sides plus extra and another type which i can't remember because i think i was half conscious.

but dinner was worth it.

oh god i can still taste the pasta. but that, thats another story. come back tomorrow, i'll tell you about the pasta.

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Where do we go now?

Here, check this out: patient, it takes a while to load.,



There you have it. Classic awesomeness personified.



SWEET CHILD OF MINE
Guns N' Roses



WHAT IS IT:

Sweet Child is a song. It is a great song. To be precise, "Sweet Child o' Mine" is a song by the rock band Guns N' Roses. It was released on their debut album, "Appetite for Destruction" on 21st Jul, 1987. "Sweet Child o' Mine" was Guns N' Roses' first number-one single on the Billboard Hot 100, spending two weeks at the top spot in September 1988.

WHY ITS GREAT:

Well, first off, its great because it was an accident. The band's guitarist, slash, was just messing around, doing 'string skipping exercises'. when the rythm guitarist, Izzy, improvised some chords, and their Vox, Axl, sang out a poem he had written. I quote from one of their interviews (speaking is Duff McKagan, their Bassist):

The thing about 'Sweet Child,' it was written in five minutes. It was one of those songs, only three chords. You know that guitar lick Slash does at the beginning? It was kinda like a joke because we thought, 'What is this song? It's gonna be nothin', it'll be filler on the record.' And except that vocal-wise, it's very sweet and sincere, Slash was fuckin' around when he first wrote that lick.

So there you have it. they accidentally made a hit. the intro lick is THE most memorable lick of anyone who lived in the era. as soon as you hear that lick, you feel this warm fuzziness inside and you think: "alright! Sweet child, i know this song! This band rocks!" the guitars are awesome, and the vocal skills are amazing. the lyrics to the song are great. I'm not sure what it means, but Wikipedia tells me its about his girlfriend, and eventual wife. there are so much more, but for those non-oldie fanatics, im sure you're bored, so i leave this section with a final note. this song got #37 for the top 100 Greatest Guitar Solos.


WHY IT SUCKS:

i hate this section when i review stuff i like. pah. anyway, i guess the vocal skills are hard for some to appreciate. to most, it may sound whiney. but that was the style of the era, and this is one of the best. also, the song doesn't make much sense in the end. the "where do we go now" part seems out of place, and is only good because time has made it so. also, the most commonly heard version of the song is shortened. As Axl Rose said in an interview:

I hate the edit of 'Sweet Child o' Mine.' Radio stations said, "Well, your vocals aren't cut." "My favorite part of the song is Slash's slow solo; it's the heaviest part for me. There's no reason for it to be missing except to create more space for commercials, so the radio-station owners can get more advertising dollars. When you get the chopped version of 'Paradise City' or half of 'Sweet Child' and 'Patience' cut, you're getting screwed

so yeah. most people dont know the full song, and that really sucks. cuz, you're getting screwed. on a light hearted note. i hate the solo. ITS FREAKING DIFFICULT TO SELF TEACH. but pah. all good solos are like that.


MY RATING:

I'd give it 4.5 stars out of five, but i don't have that .gif, so there you have it. 4 out of 5.


SHOULD I, AND WHERE CAN I GET IT:

I merged these two sections because i have the same answer for them. I have no idea. you definitely SHOULD get it, but i don't know where you can. its really rare. i ripped mine from my dad's CD collection, back in the states. i don't know where you can get it here in singapore. try e-bay? lol.

Tuesday, December 11, 2007

Carlos Santana Goodness

I have a song for you here, wait for it to load. it takes awhile.



This is Awesome.

Into The Night
Carlos Santana featuring Chad Kroeger from Nickelback



WHAT IS IT:

Into the night is a song. A song is an arrangement of musical notes played together, sometimes with accompanied by singing. Into the night is a song by Carlos Santana (Maria Maria; Just Feel Better), with Chad Kroeger (How You Remind Me; Rockstar). Into the Night is about... well, i don't know what its about, but the music video features a man about to jump off a roof when he sees a girl dancing. He falls for her immediately (yeah right) and starts to follow her like the creep he is. Eventually he follows her to a club where he watches her dance, and at the end they dance together. Meanwhile, on a completely unrelated topic, Kroeger and Santana play on the roof of a building. This song is the lead single for Santana's latest album, Ultimate Santana.



WHY ITS GREAT:

Santana plays another awesome solo. No questions asked, its great. Fits perfectly with the song, and the awesome melody, that goes great with Chad's trademark growl. Santana's playing style is strongly latin, and the fast-paced bongo thing fits perfectly with that. There is this awesome breakdown when santana's solo comes in, with the awesome wah-wahing. The whole song in general is the kind of song that stays in your head. (sing: Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay..)


WHY IT SUCKS:

It doesnt really have a climax point. Santana's solo is kick ass, but doesnt quite stand out. its kind of like alot of the same thing. this makes it seem like it goes by really quickly, and it doesnt make much of an impact. The song is probably best only for background music for a late-night party or something. Another thing. Does radio really need more Chad Kroeger? The song sounds like any Nickelback song you care to mention. Quote:
Into The Night will only sound fresh to those who have spent the past 6 years in a cave.


SHOULD YOU GET IT?

Yes. so maybe its not his best track, but since Ultimate Santana combines hits from his recent albums, as well as classics from his band at its prime, a compilation of the guitar master’s best work is a must for any pop fan without Santana's previous work in their collection. Even if you don't like the song, the other tracks in the album im sure you'll love, that is.. if you appreciate good guitar skills.



MY RATING:

When Carlos Santana originally hooked up with Nickelback's Chad Kroeger for 2002’s “Why Don’t You & I,” Kroeger’s voice was relatively new to radio, and Santana playing back up for superstar singers still seemed like a somewhat fresh concept. A dozen Nickelback hits and two similar Santana sets later, the new single “Into The Night” seems to be chock full worn out ideas, but a whole bunch of worn-out ideas can come together beautifully. This is a track that will linger in your playlist for a month or two.


SO WHERE CAN I GET IT?

I got mine from the states, so i don't know where you can get it here, but I'm sure CD stores like CD-Rama and Sembawang will have it. Its quite a big album for santana. again, as a last resort, im sure you can use e-bay.





and there you have it, Into The Night by Carlos Santana, Featuring Chad Kroeger from Nickelback. come back soon, i'm going to review Sweet Child of Mine, By Guns and Roses, a popular oldie.

Monday, December 10, 2007

Want some jam? We made it ourselves.

It was a good day at Tiet yesterday. we managed to completely learn one song and perform it. Here. this is the final copy. How You Remind Me, as made popular by: Nickelback. by this point, our vox has already mutilated his voicebox, so the quality is sub par. nah actually i think the whole song needs some work. but hey. its a good start eh? eh?





Its not on autoplay, so oyu have to hit play yourself. listen to it. its good.

anyway, tomorrow im gonna review Into The Night, by Santana feat. Chad Kroeger.


EDIT: lol, i was just asking our VOX about his singing, check this out.

AfroToast - Nothing is True; Everything is Permitted says:
why do you sound like you have a blocked nose?

Tf says:
im using a constipated approach to this song

Tf says:
so

Tf says:
after time

Tf says:
when i have lesser strenght

Tf says:
i get lesser constipation to make it nice

AfroToast - Nothing is True; Everything is Permitted says:
okaay.

Tf says:
so it sound blocked

AfroToast - Nothing is True; Everything is Permitted says:
im definitely going to quote that.

Tf says:
wtf no!

Saturday, December 8, 2007

Control

Its been a loong time since i last came online, as usual. first, apologies to doreen, you have... 4 different rants shouting at me to come online, but hey, your camera worked in the end didn't it? anyway, my lateness is not without reason. i bestow upon my readers, the first page of our comic, "Control". Story by me, art by uh.. i'm not sure if he wants me to put his name up, if he okays it, i'll edit it in.


so yeah. thats the comic's first page. im looking for a webhost to host it, plan to update that regularly, and hope to publish a full fledged comic book somewhere along the way. consider this a market test. we got 5 pages down, but this is prolly the only one you'll see on my blog. the rest will be on the main website, which i have yet to start up. so yeah. i'd like to release my story plan, but you guys just gotta wait and see. i think some people out there already know what i want to do with these characters.


hm
anyway, looking forward to tiet studios tomorrow. bringing my laptop, maybe upload some sound files. and i think i'm gonna try and review a song. perhaps an oldie, maybe not. i'll think about tomorrow.

Thursday, November 29, 2007

Ass Ass in Screed

Wow. it's been a long time since i last updated. but i've been away, and there has been assassin's creed, and halo3, and kane and lynch, and mass effect, and orange box. im sure you understand? heh.

anyway.today was a good day. we went to tiet studios. i believe we done good. as usual, at the last hour, we came up with somehting good. now all we need to do is get yiming fired from his job so he can come jam with us. we need lyrics NOW.


Long came up with the chords first, them sam got a bass, the drums... then i came in with something,

---------
---------
-----0---
---------
---2-----
-0-------

and something like that. it was a Em, C, Gsus7, and a Am, which i overdubbed with my D. so yeah. as soon as we get the finished product, we'll put it up on our website at garageband.com. google it. go see our website.

its got its built in fanbase system, so you know, hinthint. we're The Farewell Front Drive, so thats what you should search for.

Anyway, back to Assassin's Creed. Its got the greatest story ever, and im at its climax, so. till the next post.

Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Lets go Back.

I know its late, but im still gonna review it as if it just came in.











It finally came.




there were no words.
































there was only bliss.

HALO 3 LEGENDARY EDITION



It finally came in from the U.S halo 3 legendary edition. the pack comes with two halo 3 essentials DvDs and a Cat head sized Master Chief helmet. and not omitting, HALO 3.


WHAT IS IT:

Halo 3 is a video game. It is a video game for the Xbox 360. that means it is a CD, that i put into my Xbox 360 console, which is hooked up to my TV and surround sound system, to experience nirvana. Halo 3 is also a monument to all our bungie. yesm. geekisms aside, halo 3 is THE game to get for this year and many years to come. it promises rich multiplayer and single player experiences which will last until the next xbox console is released.

WHY ITS GREAT:

Its Halo3. thats why. see. firstly, games are expensive. and games that dont give you the world for your moneys suck. thats why halo3 is the best game ever. it gives you a universe. this game gives you a awesome single player experience. and a multiplayer experience that will last you years. paying for this game is no issue.

Next, this is the ultimate conclusion to the halo series. if you've played halo 1, and 2, you must get halo 3. how can you not, after that infamous cliffhanger at the end of halo 2: "Sir, Finishing this fight." halo 3 gives a satisfying storyline that simultaneously provides closure whilst adding twists and turns, making you wonder what will happen next.

Thirdly, the gameplay is outstanding. i qoute from gamespot:
Halo 3 is an interesting mix of established protocol and intriguing new stuff. For example, the gameplay doesn't stray too far from Halo 2, which, in turn, didn't exactly reinvent the original Halo.
Halo 3 plays great. it comes up with situations where sometimes you just run and gun, "Rambo" mode as we call it. but it has a heavy tactical overtone, which urges you to make some light tactical decisions, like. should i just charge up there? or will it save time and ammo to sneak in and take them out one by one? should i lob a grenade in there? or should i save it for later and take them out with my gun? The balance between your guns, your grenades, and your melee attack has always given Halo a unique feel in the genre, and those same considerations apply today, both in the campaign mode and in multiplayer. there are loads of new weapons and grenades and equipment that will change the way you approach a battle. You'll even find weapons so huge that your movement speed slows when you carry them. When you use these weapons, the camera pulls out to a third-person perspective so you can see your missile pod, plasma cannon, or flamethrower as it fires.

The concept of "equipment" is new to the series. These deployable special items have a variety of effects. im sure you all know the Bubble Shield, from the trailers?


thats the one. this lets players walk through, but grenades and bullets cannot penetrate it. You'll also find items that make your shields regenerate more quickly, and others that drain enemy shields and stop their vehicles dead in their tracks. this makes the gameplay more interesting and gives you more ways to defeat your enemy, or be defeated.

Lastly, bungie has giveth us two new tools. Forge and Theater.

The first lets you edit objects on a map. You can't edit level geometry with Forge, but you can spawn, remove, and move objects and items around the level. All of the editing is done in real time, and you can pop in and out of edit mode by pushing up on the D pad. You can also play this mode with other players, letting everyone run around in edit mode to spawn Warthogs, rocket launchers, and whatever else is already on the map. On the surface, that doesn't sound so exciting. But in practice, it's a weird and potential-rich addition to the game because there are a ton of little secrets and tricks you can use to manipulate the objects in ways Bungie may not have intended.

Theatre is the ultimate asshole tool. lets say you just finish a game, you and your mates are waiting to return to the lobby, and you say ' aw man, did you see that last kill? that was so awesome! i used the gun with the thing and the thing hit the other thing and blah blah blah. your friends are already sore that you won, but why not treat them to watching you own them again? in s l o w m o t i o n. see, it used to be: "dude i just killed you with a head shot from across the map!" now its "dude i just killed you with a head shot from across the map, now lets see it again in slow motion!" how awesome is that?!

WHY IT SUCKS:

i can't believe i have to do this portion. okay well first off, the AIs can't drive for shit. in campaign mode, NEVER, EVER let your marines drive you around. they will drive you into the wall, or off the next cliff. NEVER LET THEM DRIVE. other than that, i have no complaints.

oh but theres stilll the inevitable flood of pre pubescent kids on xboxlive who will scream into your ears with a shrill voice so high pitched and laden with vulgarities that your brains will melt and your eyeballs explode. squeakers, we call them.

SHOULD YOU GET IT?

HAVE YOU NOT BEEN PAYING ATTENTION? YES! GET IT! if you have an xbox 360 that is. even if you dont, its worth getting one just for this game. if you can afford it, that is. prepare about 1000 moneys. that right. harsh huh?

MY RATING:

Halo 3 builds upon the concepts of Halo 2 in ways that you'd expect, but there are also new modes and options that send the series in exciting new directions. I am definitely NOT biased.

SO WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

Any video game store should have this. if they dont, they're either out of stock or they suck. if you live in the AMK Hub area, I recommend Funzcentre.com on the second floor of AMK Hub. friendly staff. dont expect to find a used copy of halo 3, only retarded people sell their halo 3. smilesmile.

Sunday, November 18, 2007

not good.

worst two days i remember.

first day was the last day of the chalet. don't get me wrong the chalet was great. but i made a stupid decision to go prom shopping with long and kenji. supposed to go swee lee for long's guitar, but ended up going from yio chu kang, to vivo, to getting lost in orchard and i can't remember what else. as soon as i left my house i knew something was wrong. yet so subtle, i just ignored it. then at vivo, it kinda worsened. a weird sense of disorientation, and at orchard, i was in some delirious state, couldnt focus on anything, cold sweat, my legs were practically caving in. then my mother called. by some immense stroke of luck, she was at shaw centre. my saviour. lol. anyway. i did my last dash from taka to shaw, which felt like a marathon. got into the car, and i KOed all the way home. i got home. took the hottest shower i can remember, then collapsed on the bed and slept from who knows what time in the afternoon to 9. at least 5 hours i think. dunno. woke up, tried to eat dinner, then went back to sleep.

middle of the night was probably the scariest. througout the day i kept worrying that i had some lethal fever that could fry my brain and cause a stroke, partly cuz i've seen it happen, and partly cuz i think some fevers heighten the production of some chemical that makes you worry. anyway. middle of the night i remember vaguely waking up and just shaking. my legs twitched a little and i started shivering. so. that scared the hell out of me. i tried to stop the twitching and i eventually fell back to sleep. thank fully, waking up this morning, i felt better. the headache and muscle aches were still there, and the disorientation was also kinda persistent, but it slowly ebbed out over the day.

and then just now, some steamboat buffet affair. i took like i dunno. 10 helpings of seaweed with the soup.

shit. real smart. no need to tell you what happened, just know that today wasn't the best. oh, and di i mention i almost lost my account? stupid remember me feature. so tempting. sigh. sorry about the halo 3 review not being here. the prom stuff, the chalet, the bsod, the weird sick thing (i think its burnout. no sleep for the 3 chalet days compounded with the sun and lots of walking, standing around.) everythings really messy. hang on to the hope. i'll do my best to put it up on thursday maybe, once everything settles down.

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

FACE


I'm Screwed Now.



The Blue Screen of Death, otherwise known as the BSOD, or FACE, which is, for those who don't know, eFfing Annoying Computer Error. it basically means you're F*cked. So. with this, goes all my halo 3 pictures. so, there goes your review.. well, for now. Anyway, on the review thing. I don't know.. it seems more fun to just blog on what happens, but.. oh well. maybe i'll just mix it up a little more.

so anyway, today, i finally got the prom stuff. it cost me $0. a Blazer, Pants, Shirt. The whole ensemble, for free. yup. i went in, payed, by nets, went home. turns out the NETS didnt go through. so i payed nothing. but i couldnt get away with it. as soon as i got home and tried the altered pants for size, i got a call from Giordano Concept (great store. go check it out) telling me that the payment didnt make it. so tomorrow i have to go back there to get it done. which sucks. I mean, its not like Wisma Atria is 5 minutes away or anything. Its like a 1 hour bus ride there. well, there's the train, but the bus is always longer for emphasis. so pleah.

well. other than that, today went okay. well. i want to say it was sen-effin-sational, but i think that may be too extreme. while i got my prom stuff settled, there were still somethings i didnt get done. but pah. no point getting all emo about it. anyway. today, i tried jeans for the first time. but no. not those beginner "my-first-jeans" jeans, nono. i went straight for the hardcore stuff. Skinny Jeans. but not just ANY skinny jeans. oh no. these were "Topman's" Super Skinny™ cut jeans. they were freaking tight! how the hell does anyone wear them? are they insane?! seriously. well. at least now when i see someone where them, i know i shouldn't see them as 'bengs' but as true gods of endurance. i take my pants off to you. (compliment)

so yeah. stupid BSOD ruined the Halo 3 review, but i'll fix it tonight, and maybe later tonight i'll give you your review. so. come back for it.



p.s. i want to work at starbucks. whos with me?

Thursday, November 8, 2007

No Goodbyes

I haven't had internet for what... 4 days?

well. first things first. im not dead, the blog is still up. I just got halo 3 over the weekend, that kept me away for two days. should have posted then, didnt know what was to come. My review for halo 3 will be posted not long from now. i think after the cremation tomorrow. check back. i need to upload the photos from my phone anyway.

sigh. I didnt think it'd be that sad, missing the amath dinner after the 'o's. probably mostly because i thought i really could go. oh well. my grandfather moved on to a better place on monday, at 3:30. not long before Long (the person) left my house actually. i was there at the hospital, i was never really too close to him, but when the doctor told us his heart stopped, let me tell you, its nothing like they say in novels or movies. there was no drama here. he just sank a little bit lower into the bed, and then he was gone. i didnt expect i would, but i found myself crying, i wish i could say it was for the loss of my grandfather, but no, my tears were for the losses my mother felt, those that my aunts felt. that that my grandmother felt. i'd never seen them cry so hard before. after some paperwork was done, he was sent to the void deck of his home in serangoon. the wake was already pretty much set up. i was supposedly supposed to stay late, but there was science, lit lit the next day, so we left first.

on the day of the final papers, i'd gotten over most of it already, told most people the news. then it dawned on me that the AMAT dinner was that night. i wanted to go so bad. but i was needed at the wake. i was his grandson after all. i followed us Amath people out the schools gate, but then i had to break off. i remember Huimin shouting: "Hey bezner! why you not going?!" i didnt turn back. i couldnt. i think i would have cried. ots not so much the not-going for the dinner. i think i was just saddened by the fact that the o's were over, and i couldn't go have fun. it was the idea that that could probably have been the happiest day of my life, and i was expected to go to a wake and be sad.

i thought it'd be boring at the wake. turns out it wasn't so bad. it was worse. there was music. the children, spouses, and grandchildren had to asssemble in front of the altar, while the monks made music. about 20 of them stood by the side, chanting and moaning and tok-tokking on their tok-tokkers. then once in awhile they'd start rapping. the tempo would speed up, and one monk would solo for a few pages of the song book, chanting the words faster than i've ever seen a monk rap (never). all this while, we would stand, bow, kneel, stand, sit, kneel, bow stand, sit, kneel, stand, kneel, stand, kneel, stand, kneel, hold the kneel, stand.... etc. the whole thing lasted an hour and a half. i decided. if i had a good life, i'd make sure this never happened at my funeral. if i had a bad life. i'd will that this happened two to five times.. ..a day, depending on how bad my life was.

anyway, the next day i went back there, we had to do it again. except it was a little different this time.i'd go into detail, but pah. i'm tired. its 1:07 am and i woke up at like 5 this morning. so. i apologise for this emo-ish post. but well. i just had to get it out. just to e-mail this to my dad, and i'm off to bed.

Wednesday, October 31, 2007

COOKIES

Yesterday's review neglected cookies. today's review is about cookies. well, its not really a review. more of a homage. alas. Ode to Cookie?




WHAT IS IT:

you dont know what a cookie is? A cookie (or cooky) is a small, round, flat cake. a small, round, flat cake of GOODNESS. give cookie. There is nothing better than the anticipation that comes from the smell of fresh baked Chocolate Chip Cookies. quote: "lawl. cookies own. nice black round and sexy"

WHY ITS GOOD:





WHY IT SUCKS:


Who stole the cookies?

MY RATING:


okay. i know theres no where to get and should i get, but i get to be lazy right? mm.. ill edit it in another time.

Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Eat Fresh

I tried and tried and tried again, but i just could NOT get a nice photo. the photo just couldnt do it justice. Of them all, here is my best shot.




SUBWAY. Singapore's only Sub-Sandwich franchise.

okay. so maybe the photo isn't mine. my photos really sucked. didn't really put alot of heart to this review. maybe i'll edit it later.


WHAT IS IT:
hm. how do i explain a sub-sandwich.. wikipedia says:

A submarine sandwich or sub is any of various sandwiches made on a long roll (usually up to 12" long by 3 " wide) or baguette (called "French bread" or a "submarine roll" in the U.S.), so called because of its shape. The contents typically include meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and various condiments, sauces or dressings.


so there you have it. This particular Sub-Sandwich from subway, is their meatball marinara. what you do, is you go up to the counter, tell them what type of bread you want, tell them what you want in it, i.e meatball marinara, subway melt, etc. then, you tell them what veggies/toppings you want, then you tell them what condiments you want. il et: Honey Mustard, Chipotle Southwest, etc etc. Following which, you specify what type of meal you want. meals consist of varying sizes of drinks, and a proportionate number of cookies. (oh the cookies...)


WHY ITS GOOD:

Well, many ways. lets try a list.

  1. Its healthy. =)
  2. Its a superb combination of meat, lettuce, and EVERYTHING. seriously. the GODLIKE blend of the meats, with the melted cheese oozing upon it, holding down the lettuce and pickles, smothered by a THICK layer of sauces, all held together with a Soft, spongy dough toasted to perfection, with that crispy outer layer that crumbles as you sink your teeth into that ohh so great.. uh. sandwich.
  3. *ahem* theres also the desert. oh god the desert. the cookie. cookie.. mmmmm. must... have... cookie.... ahem. anyway, the cookie. the epitome of godlike-ism. you pull the cookie out of the bag and the swirling aroma of the sweet blend of vanilla and chocolate waft out, intoxicating you, numbing your senses. you put it to your mouth. you sink your teeth into the cookie and its soft and chewy texture surprise you. as you pull away, the semi-solid chocolate chip stretches out of the cookie, leaving a trail of molten chocolate..... uhm. excuse me.

WHY IT SUCKS
:

uhm. this isn't easy. lets see. ah. you need to be REALLY hungry to eat there. there is no way ANYONE can stomach more than one footlong in one sitting. "so?" you may ask, "i'll just get their six inch." no. the six inch really isnt enough either. part of the reason why the footlong is so much more filling than the six inch is probably because after a while, you get tired of the same taste throughout the whole sub. one thing you could try, is have a friend order a different footlong, and trade halves. thats nice. oh and one more thing. bring lots of money.


SHOULD I GET IT?

yes. no doubt about it. yes. this is something you have to try at least once in your life. as keith would say, "WTF WHY THE HELL NOT?!"

MY RATING:


OKAY, COOL. WHERE CAN I GET IT?

hm. if you live near AMK hub, you're in luck. They just opened a branch there not too long ago. there's also another one at i think united square. or something. im not sure. there are many around, use the comments, share locations. use google. stuff like that.

Saturday, October 27, 2007

*ahem* Now, back to our regularly schedu... SENTRY!

the stupidest thing happened to me today. there i was in my bed, sleeping like any other person, except unlike any other person, i was dreaming of Team Fortress 2. yup. great game, go get it. i'd review it but im too busy playing it. anyway, snoozing along, then my alarm went off. in slow motion, i woke up, thought-screamed: ZOMG SENTRY!!! then kicked my blanket off, and threw my pillow at my phone alarm, all while diving off my bed to avoid alarm fire.

yup. im not kidding. for those of you who don't know, sentries are something the engineer class in TF2 can build, usually they put them in blind corners, so when you're like a scout or something, and you're turning that corner, suddenly BEEP BEEP BEEP! and then you eat lead while the engineer laughs at your face.. or.. whats left of it.

so yeah. well. im gonna go back to TF2 now, so. i leave you with thi.. ZOMG SENTRY!

Thursday, October 25, 2007

And now, for something completely different.

i read your blog alot. more than any other. i may not talk to you much. but.. here's a sigh. i don't want you to go. if i could i'd stop you. but.. its not for me to choose. its still your choice to go. in these past few months i felt so many things for you. its my fault i didnt do anything. but then again. what difference would it make. this.. this is for the greater good. i could have had everything, but i chose not to. i should have said something. but.. no. that would do no good for you. that would be selfish. go then. don't let me tie you down. don't let anything tie you down. here's something i'm still writing. maybe i can't tell you now, but someday you'll know. this is for you.

this is the end.
i should have tried, at least tried to change it.

its not my choice.
theres just too many things, too much to deal with

what could i have done.
i had no say at all.
these lines i've drewn
you had no part at all.

is this my fault?
am i to blame
? who am i to blame?

this is my fault.
i had so many chances, almost every day.

look what i have done,
i've made a mess of it all.
these things that i do,
did they matter at all?


Tuesday, October 23, 2007

JAVA CHIP!

Okay... first post. here goes.








I bring to you all today a marvel of man's coffee making abilities. for today's show and tell. Lo and behold, the upmost majesty, the ultimatum. The purest bliss. Be awed by:


Starbucks' JAVA CHIP Frappucino

hm, re-reading that. the picture is somewhat anti-climatic. but hey, with half the world's best tastes, it can afford to look frumpy. okay. how am i gonna review this. This concoction here has been around long enough to have millions of reviews written about it. its too good for words. but well, sitting at the bus interchange at northpoint waiting for 851 gave me some time to think about it. lets try this:


WHAT IS IT:


So, we all love starbucks' Frappucinos now don't we. now take all that frothy goodness and that occasional bits of crunchy ice we all love, and that rich semi-sweet coffee blend, topped with that white-gold crown of whipped cream, and throw it away.. well, not quite. throw it into the blender, thats right. then throw in a bunch of chocolate chips, grind it all up into your frappucino, and voila! what? sounds too simple? well it kinda is, but hey, you didnt think it up now did you?


WHY ITS GREAT:

Each time you put your mouth to that straw, and you pull out that thick frumpy-looking concoction, you pull up bits of ground chocolate chips, and that already god-like frappucino up to your mouth. now, as you sit it there, relishing the sweet taste of the coffee, you feel those chocolate chips in there and you bite down on them. now that is adding texture to taste. you don't get that in the frappucinos. "that occasional bits of crunchy ice we all love" have no longer become occasional. ohh no. now they even taste good!


WHY IT SUCKS:

Well, I barely afford to drink it once a week. This baby costs a whopping S$7.50. That gets you decent eating at carl's jr. but then again, it is starbucks. S$7.50 is worth it, really. unless you're not making your own money yet, like me. so hey starbucks, maybe a student price hmm? wink wink nudge nudge.


SHOULD YOU GET IT?

yes! absolutely. while their prices are high, you should at least try it when you can. the java chip frappucino is truly a classic, something all coffee drinkers should try at least thrice.


MY RATING:

Highly Recommended! (gah, weird squares everywhere!)

this is something everyone who can should try. while it burns your wallet, every cent you pay goes straight for taste. Take their Grande size. Tall is too little and Venti is too much.


SO WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

every starbucks in the world stocks this. serious. if you live in the yishun area, [singapore] there is a starbucks hidden in a corner on the second floor, near world of sports. they have a big sign on the side but i doubt anyone notices it. lets see. north point... one fullerton... many more. oh and if theres one in the AMK area, that'll be nice to know. use the comment system!


(more weird squares? help!)

A Formal Apology

sigh. okay then.


Hi. My name is Afro Toast. you may know me from such blogs as: the loser joke blog, the poser emo blog, the squeaker flame blog, and many more. now. i don't know if anyone actually reads them, but if you do. hereforth i put forward my apology. I obviously did not uphold my promises of frequently updating. sometimes because i just didnt have anything to write, but mostly because i just couldnt be bothered.


ANYWAY. here is my final attempt at this blog thing. now, i review stuff. well, not exclusively, but you get the point. inspired from such blogs as: http://augtoberspectrum.blogspot.com (post photos!), http://watery-shitt.blogspot.com (more insights!), and many more, I, Afro Toast, hereby resolve to update this blog at least once a day..


..well lets be realistic. once a year?




pah. anyway. lets try kicking this off.