Sunday, July 26, 2009

Beef Goulash

Made Beef Goulash for dinner tonight. It's supposed to be a soup but i added more tomato to make it chunkier and thicker so i could serve it as a gravy with rice.

apparantly i can't upload pictures because the 'upload pictures' button doesn't do anything. i wonder what's wrong. haha i took a whole bunch of pictures, but it seems i can't share it. if and when the blogger image uploader comes back, i'll share it.

it was fun to cook. here's a link to a picture online of someone else's beef goulash. its done right, without the tomato paste, so you can see the soupyness.

Beefy Goulash Goodness

Saturday, July 25, 2009

error

my post editor seems to be screwing up. i don't get to format or add images etc. ah well

anyway, we went jamming today. marion, keith, kenneth and I. was okay. wasted alot of time until kenneth arrived late. jammed like 1 and a half song and we had to leave. haha.

BEGIN SARCASM
34 dollars well spent.
END SARCASM

though after that we went to the nearby subway for dinner. was fun. keith kenneth and marion seem to click really well. i think they were talking something about pigs or something. i was zoning out. worrying about work haha. though things are coming together nicely. apart from multicam being really really rushed, everything else seems to be coming together okay.

wanted to post about something else here but i completely forgot what. i hate it when that happens. anyway. its night time for me and i'm headed to bed. haveat.

Monday, July 20, 2009

WORK WORK WORK

WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK. WORK.



yeah that about sums up our time for the rest of the month. since school started its been ICA after ICA. not that its not interesting or we don't learn anything, its just really tiring. i've learned alot about doing surveys by writing my fail MMR report. so i may get a poor grade for this but at least i now know how to avoid that, haha. its just that i've been working at school work since my weekend started. haha how fun is that.

awesomeface helps alot though. haha. she keeps me sane and without her, i would probably have given up on some projects long ago. thanks for that, baby. (:

so me and shahrum are just putting the last touches on today's part of the MMR report. tomorrow i'll work on the executive summary and conclusion/recommendation. ATM i just can't really think much so haha.

on a side note, its nice to know that my readership is starting back up again. i promise you, at least a post a week from now on. keep reading, awesome people.

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

14 Days

These 2 weeks, this and the next, srsly needs to loosen up.

JW ICA3 is really tough, there's a language barrier for me, i need to interview a senior citizen who has not had the good fortune to retire. he or she is still working to make ends meet. unfortunately i've exhausted all my contacts and they all seem to be quite well off. then there's the fact that most of them speak only chinese dialects. and the fact that my chinese = fail, not to mention cantonese/hokkien/etc. anyway i'm heading off. GOOD DAY SIR.

P.S. my eye aches in a way eyes should never ache.

P.P.S. I SAID GOOD DAY.

Sunday, July 5, 2009

WCG/Back to the 70s

Yesterday was a pretty interesting day. it started out with meeting baby at city hall for WCG.

someone got my hopes up in that there would be a halo 3 open category but there wasn't. but it was still awesome anyway. we met darren there and kenneth came later. finally got to see rainbow road in RL. me and marion thought he'd look like my brother, what with being the same age and everything but no, he doesn't look half as gay. hahaha.

i think we all had quite abit of fun, haha. its not so much the event but who you spend it with, really.

so WCG was interesting, spent most of the time sampling games, watching games, and laughing at fail cosplayers. was fun. haha

after that i went home and left for event no.2, Dominic's Birthday Party, themed as 'Disco Divas', everyone there was dressed as some cliche from the 70s.

Pictures probably on my mom's blog haha. so everyone had fun, but my cousins and i had to leave early: they had church tomorrow and we carpooled. but my mom stayed behind.

Saturday, July 4, 2009

I'm Back!

Back in the New York Groove;

Hey look, i updated this dusty old thing. Though i doubt websites can actually get dusty.

If you're looking for an explanation for the 4 months of nothingness, you won't find one here. I'm probably going to be updating this quite frequently again. No promises, but have a little faith. don't think I'll bother with the reviews and such, maybe once in a while. they were horrible biased anyway. ha ha.

I hate the red underline when you're lazy to capitalize your 'I's when you type 'I'll', and i hate that 'ha[no space]ha' isn't in the English dictionary.

Anyway. today we celebrated Samuel 's birthday. [apparently Samuel[Aposthrophe(wtf i spelt{wtf 'spelt' is the past tense of 'spell'} that correctly)]'s' is not allowed either. I give up.

So today we celebrated Samuel's Eighteenth Birthday at Cha Cha Cha in Holland Village. More red lines. Mexican cuisine is awesome. All round we had Burritos, Fajitas, Tacos, and Margaritas; all perfectly acceptable words according to spell check. I had a ground beef burrito, personally i taste that its better than the hard shell ground beef tacos. A lot less messy too. I'm not sure what was had on the other end of the table [Kenneth Ang, Kenneth Kan, Javin and Keith], on our end we had Long, Yu Sheng, Samuel and Me. Huiwen and Tzuling kinda came together and were seated near center.

er. Picture 4 square tables together in a 2-Dimensional Column, then seats at every exposed face. Starting from the top, which is toward the street, away from the kitchen, and going clockwise, we have:
  1. Kenneth Ang Ken Ji
  2. Javin Soh Jing Ye
  3. Kenneth Kan
  4. Long Jun Hong
  5. Tay Yu Sheng
  6. Samuel Tay Kai Wen
  7. Bezner Lim
  8. See Huiwen
  9. Lim Tzu Ling
  10. Keith Heng Sheng Yuan
Note, the conversations at the table were had in two separate halves. the top two table chatted amongst themselves and the bottom two tables chatted amongst themselves. this lasts until after dinner.
So. after that incredibly detailed explanation of the seating arrangement, which really isn't important to the post at all, i guess we'll move on to the drinks. We had 4 jugs of margarita to go around, 2 at a time. 1 jug wasn't enough for 10 decent glasses all round apparently. so 2 jugs with enough for 5 people to refill once.

first round was 2 jugs of lime margaritas; my half of the table got refills. second round was 1 jug of lime margarita and another jug of strawberry flavored margarita. Some people got refills.

So here's the interesting thing. Interesting observation of the placebo effect in play today. [placebo pronounced play-see-bow]

First a short definition/explanation of what placebo effect is:
the tendency of any medication or treatment, even an inert or ineffective one, to exhibit results simply because the recipient believes that it will work


Watch this for a quick and fun example [HD is awesomer]:


so what happened was, i think after the first round of drinks, the barkeep decided that we weren't quite ready to be drinking so much, and the second round of margaritas were really weak. it was like a $40 pitcher of slurpee.

surprisingly though, it seems that a lot of them still got drunk. They were doing weird and crazy stuff under no influence of alcohol. ha ha. its all in the mind.

i think long, yu sheng and sam were like falling around and being all crazy, i didn't really see javin at all the whole night ha ha. and keith could only talk about jamming. it was so weird. 7 kids who thought they were drunk. at least we had fun, haha.




okay. so after that, we decided to walk to town. we kinda walked about 2 bus stops then took 165. everyone went off at thompson for some LAN gaming, they're not going home tonight; but kenneth and me went to hougang to head home, where i took a bus to get home and kenneth walked.

planning to go to WCG tomorrow but i gotta wake up at 8. So yeah. first of many posts. hopefully. haha. enjoy the video and the visualization.