Recently been on a How I Met Your Mother Spree. its an awesome show. go check it out
----------------
Now playing on iTunes: Jason Steele - Put a Banana In Your Ear
via FoxyTunes
----------------
Thursday, February 26, 2009
Wednesday, February 18, 2009
Its Clobbering Time.
so its only a few more days to the end of the week. tomorrow is a free day before the last exam on friday. i already have it all planned out.
waste time till thursday night, study till midnight, go for test on friday, partay. woo. haha
so yeah. okay. to complete this post i now need to add some form of media. hang on.

waste time till thursday night, study till midnight, go for test on friday, partay. woo. haha
so yeah. okay. to complete this post i now need to add some form of media. hang on.

guess where this place is!
Sunday, February 15, 2009
Saint Vee's Day
So. today was Saint Valentines on a budget. Its really horrible how this festival is over commercialized. you have to pay a premium on everything just because its the 14th. well i've managed to avoid all that so far, spent the day at the barrage by the marina, [marina barrage sounds queer] picnicked on the green roof.

comments about the establishment.. i think the concept, and photos are much nicer than actually being there. the cafe and the restaurant are tourist traps, you pay almost double what you pay outside, its all really pretty and nice on saint vee's, but otherwise. its a large patch of grass. its windy though, so kites fly. but yeah. in hindsight its abit overrated. fuck i can't decide if its pretty or not. haha.
well its a nice building, but its very very plain. the building shape is really really cool, the curvy thing and the rooftop garden, in theory, its really nice and cool, but when you visit, its all really plain. its not carpet grass like it looks like in the picture. [i really wanted carpet grass] its some muddier version of savannah grass. but even so, since its so near the ocean, there's this eternal breeze of sorts. the barrage itself is a kind of bridge with pavilions:

so its cool to hang out abit. another thing to note, the views of the city are really really nice, with the inherent problem being that cranes kinda block the view everywhere. they're hard at work on the IR. haha.
So yeah. it was a great day, haha. [I find it rather difficult to refrain from placing that smiley all over the post]
comments about the establishment.. i think the concept, and photos are much nicer than actually being there. the cafe and the restaurant are tourist traps, you pay almost double what you pay outside, its all really pretty and nice on saint vee's, but otherwise. its a large patch of grass. its windy though, so kites fly. but yeah. in hindsight its abit overrated. fuck i can't decide if its pretty or not. haha.
well its a nice building, but its very very plain. the building shape is really really cool, the curvy thing and the rooftop garden, in theory, its really nice and cool, but when you visit, its all really plain. its not carpet grass like it looks like in the picture. [i really wanted carpet grass] its some muddier version of savannah grass. but even so, since its so near the ocean, there's this eternal breeze of sorts. the barrage itself is a kind of bridge with pavilions:

so its cool to hang out abit. another thing to note, the views of the city are really really nice, with the inherent problem being that cranes kinda block the view everywhere. they're hard at work on the IR. haha.
So yeah. it was a great day, haha. [I find it rather difficult to refrain from placing that smiley all over the post]
Thursday, February 12, 2009
Wednesday, February 11, 2009
Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway

Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway
What is it:
Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway is the third entry in the Brothers in Arms series of video games which follows the men of the 101st Airborne Division (502nd Parachute Infantry Regiment [PIR]).

He looks fat in this screenie.
In this uh. entry. You follow Staff Sergeant Matt Baker [As in the first game] through the events of Operation Market Garden: The largest airborne operation of all time. it also happened to fail quite badly. The game sticks to history really closely, so you might think spoilers aren't an issue. we'll get to that later.
You, and characters from the previous game are reassigned to the unit before the drop into the Holland. The game follows the 101st's assault and securing of Eindhoven, and the subsequent defense of the surrounding area from German counterattacks, which in turn leads to the countless deaths of your squad, since you know the plan to end the war by christmas didn't go so well.
Why Its Great:
Okay i want to point out this thing. Many people think most WW2 shooters don't have much of a narrative because its a retelling. thats not true. this is especially the case in this game. BIA:HH is awesome on account of an excellent narrative. It maintains a very good balance of historical detail and character development.
The main characters are fictional, though you take orders from a few notable historical figures, including Lieutenant General Robert Sink.The game tells a very very good narrative. with some drawbacks i'll mention later.
Point 2: The game is really fun. the formula is no different from its predecessors: you have a gun, you can shoot nazis. you also have 1-3 squads of 2-3 soldiers who also have guns. you can tell them to shoot nazis. some squads have bazookas to blow nazis to bits, and some squads have Machine Guns to shred nazis to bits.
Point 3: New squad types, i cannot stress the awesomeness — bazooka and MG teams — both ratchet up the carnage and make things feel more realistic. After all, the war was not won with the M1 Garand alone, especially when the Allies had tanks and bunkers to eliminate. The new destructible-cover system also makes these battles more authentic, as you can mow down Nazis behind wooden cover…or get dropped yourself if you tuck into the wrong spot.
You can cut these fences [and the nazis behind it] with a M1919A4 L.M.G like a hot knife cuts through butter.The A.I. enemies seem more evolved, too, repositioning in response to your actions and generally not sitting around like target-practice dummies. The AI has been improved. it glitches though sometimes.
Why It Sucks:
Glitches. Bugs. Checkpoint Save Shenanigans. So many times i had to have my playing interrupted because some of my team mates decided to fall through the floor and get stuck. this level written in stone also had a checkpoint saves a checkpoint before you reach it, making it unreachable. its hard to explain. it only happens sometimes. but yeah.
sometimes the AI glitches. i dropped quite some motionless Germans who might as well have been holding up a “Shoot Here” sign. But even worse were the times your bazooka squad fired anywhere but where you told them.
what else... oh right the story. its really confusing at the beginning, and if you never played the previous few, you will have no idea at all wtf is going on. until really late into the game. i think. well it depends on how retarded the player is. you won't get alot of the flashback scenes that reference the previous games but you'll get the gist of the story. and its a good story.
last thing. replayability. this is a big factor for me, because i don't like finishing a game in like 2 days then leaving it to rot somewhere until the sequel is released. after i finished the campaign, there was just nothing left to do. nada. zilch. okay well there's multiplayer. lets face it. the new BIA multiplayer is horrible. its okay. i don't know. i never tried it.
Either way, they took out the much loved 'skirmish' mode, a single player or cooperative mission whereby you tackle an objective not necessarily related to the main story. it could be capturing a bunker and holding it, or etc. really good fun in Earned in Blood, [i never played hill 30], completely non-existent in Hell's Highway. the main story isn't much fun to replay either. the game dynamic means that the same nazis appear at the same time in the same place. so its boring a second, maybe third playthrough.
Should You Get It:
hmm. Depends. I wouldn't recomment buying it, but borrowing it from someone who has it, or renting it, if you're outside my country of residence. i don't know a game rental service in singapore. Its just not worth 70 bucks. or 60. i can't remember how much i paid. but yeah. you have to try it at least. blowing up nazis is fun.
My Rating:

Thats it. 2.5. its fun to play. once. it really disappoints me that after 3 years there are so many bugs in it, i appreciate the work done on the destructible cover and new squads, but the removal of skirmish is just sad. and co-op!
Where You Can Get It:
Any Video Game Store. not the internet. stay legal. lol. I'm leaving you with this image. click to enlarge goodness.
Monday, February 2, 2009
Just Tag Yourselves.
Rules:
It's harder than it looks! Copy to your own note, erase my answers, enter yours, and tag ten people.
Use the first letter of your name to answer each of the following questions. They have to be real...nothing made up! If the person before you had the same first initial, you must use different answers. You cannot use any word twice and you can't use your name for the boy/girl name question.
[For Extra Fun, I decided to google images and put the first one i found. if the first doesn't work, the second, and so on...]
1. What is your name : Bezner
2. A four Letter Word : Barn

3. A boy's Name : Ben

4. A girl's Name : Becky

5. An occupation : Baker

6. A color : Beige

7. Something you'll wear : Belt

9. A food : Baked Ribs

10. Something found in the bathroom: Bathtub [that was easy lol]

11. A place : Berlin

12. A reason for being late : Bus ran me over. =p

13. Something you'd shout : Banned! [not really]

14. A movie title : Babe? [can't think of anything else ATM]

15. Something you drink : Berry Juice [lol]

16. A musical group : Black Sabbath

17. An animal : Boar

18. A street name : Bugis Street [don't really like that place though]

19. A type of car : Beetle

20. The title of a song : Back in Black - AC/DC
It's harder than it looks! Copy to your own note, erase my answers, enter yours, and tag ten people.
Use the first letter of your name to answer each of the following questions. They have to be real...nothing made up! If the person before you had the same first initial, you must use different answers. You cannot use any word twice and you can't use your name for the boy/girl name question.
[For Extra Fun, I decided to google images and put the first one i found. if the first doesn't work, the second, and so on...]
1. What is your name : Bezner
2. A four Letter Word : Barn

3. A boy's Name : Ben

4. A girl's Name : Becky

5. An occupation : Baker

6. A color : Beige

7. Something you'll wear : Belt

9. A food : Baked Ribs

10. Something found in the bathroom: Bathtub [that was easy lol]

11. A place : Berlin

12. A reason for being late : Bus ran me over. =p

13. Something you'd shout : Banned! [not really]

14. A movie title : Babe? [can't think of anything else ATM]

15. Something you drink : Berry Juice [lol]

16. A musical group : Black Sabbath

17. An animal : Boar

18. A street name : Bugis Street [don't really like that place though]

19. A type of car : Beetle

20. The title of a song : Back in Black - AC/DC
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

.jpg)


