Saturday, January 26, 2008

Cloverfield

we watched a movie recently. a good movie. an extreme movie. we bought their popcorn combo. they gave me a book. it was:



its a notebook, but anyway..

CLOVERFIELD
Produced by J. J. Abrams

WHAT IS IT:

Cloverfield is a movie. but i think we want to know more about why its seems to be so big. see, first of all, Cloverfield is produced by bad robot. you know what bad robot is famous for? yup. lost. the series. remember that awesome monster from lost that kept you guessing? now. lets take the people who created that, and ask them to make a monster movie. what do you get? cloverfield.

WHY ITS GREAT:


Its unique. the entire movie is shot from the view point of a camcorder. it starts off with this guy recording testimonials for rob, who is leaving town for business soon. then it goes awry, and the camera is brought everywhere, covering the incident. the view point makes everything alittle more believeable, and is also very unique, makes you feel like you are really there. it offsets the otherwise cliche story and thrills.

WHY IT SUCKED:


The story, very predictable. some things, too unbelievable. the camera angle, when they ran, everything shakes, so motion sickness is a problem. the scares also are very standard monster in the closet type. so yeah.

SHOULD I WATCH IT?

yes, yes you should. while the story and stuffs may not be awesome, the camera pov is new and interesting to experience.watch it once. you either really hate it, or really love it.

MY RATING:
I give it 4 out of 5 stars because i loved it. i wasnt affected by the motion sickness problem, so yeah.

i'm not gonna put in a where can i etc, because its a movie. go to a cinema. i dont need to tell you that. lol. okay. next review, aerosmith's album. i think i'll do it tomorrow. hey, i woke up at 4 this morning, cut me some slack. really. i'll do it tomorrow.

INTERNETS

i finally got my internet back. i finally have meaning in my life. well. i know what im going to do. im going to tell you about today in this post. and then by tonight, i will review cloverfield, Devil's got a new disguise, and this nifty little guitar i purchased very recently; the Epiphone Gothic LP.

So. starting with today.


started yesterday i think, me, long, kenneth wandering around and i realised i was really bored with my lifestyle at the moment. which was essentially, work, eat, home, sleep, work, eat, home, sleep, repeat. and i realised i desperately needed change. something was missing, didnt quite know what.

then today after work, dhana, my colleague asked me where i was going tonight. so i told him i was going home. the usual. then he was talking about how thats such a boring idea, its friday night, go enjoy yourself, party and stuffs. so i realised.. shit. i need to GTFOut of home. so i started asking EVERYONE on my contact list if they were free. no one could go anywhere.

about 2 hours later, keith replied. something about meeting for dinner. maybe a movie. so i thought sounds great what time?
he came back with: umm 8?

so it was settled. friday night.
but then. me and keith going for dinner and a movie, we decided that would be gay. so i tried to gather more peeps, but no one could make it.

down and dejected, i finally went home. played some portal, got bored. played some half life, got bored. signed into msn.
then saw, hmm huiwen is online.

double click.

hey, are you free right now?

and then it turned out that she was okay with going out at night. so it was settled. me, keith, huiwen. we ditched the movie idea, and settled on dinner and starbucks. which was awesome. it was great and all. when ordering the drinks, me and keith noticed that there was water, dripping from the ceiling. so we looked up.
and saw,
water dripping from the lamp

its like.
wtf?
where did the water come from? the lamp is hanging. about 2 meters from the ceiling, on a flimsy wire. the wire is completely dry, the bulb is dripping wet, and theres a glass upside down cup seperating the two. WHERE THE HELL IS THE WATER COMING FROM?

so we laughed and strugged it off. quote: The Matrix Has You. its a glitch in the program.

somewhere towards the end of our chat at starbucks, these guys opened up a panel in the pillar, and climbed in. and im lazy to type about it. but basically. two guys, climbed into a pillar.

into.

a pillar.
inside.

two guys.


then we left. *shrug*

Thursday, January 17, 2008

ANTI IE

EDIT: I had to remove the code. Too many people who read my blog use Internet Explorer, so.. psh.

For those who didnt know, i had a line of code there that crashed internet explorers. thats why you couldnt read my blog.
I think i mmanaged to rip a cool piece of code from gibson...







hm. looks okay in editor. if it works, dont sue me.

Sunday, January 13, 2008

BerfDay

this post goes out to my dad.

i spent the whole day messing with the guitar, hoping to put together something nice for you today, but now, with 9 minutes left to spare. i realize that the greatest present i can give you is sparing you the agony of having to listen to the 16 recordings mashed together into one abomination of a song that is completely out of sync with itself and well..

.. Happy Birthday.

Wednesday, January 9, 2008

GH2

This happened on IRC today, after i uploaded a recording of Dream On, just me playing.




AfroToast: i know its a bit off somewhere, just gimme some pointers.

jesusknowskungfu: its okay, i think the "abit off" is your tuning.

?Guest004 has joined channel #temp1

AfroToast: oh right. i dunno. freaking tired after work. didnt pay attention to that

jesusknowskungfu: lol. hm your second solo is completely missing.

AfroToast: i know. didnt learn that yet. i still think thats the hardest part.

migri79: cant be. the first solo is still the hardest.

jesusknowskungfu: are you kidding?

migri79: norly

AfroToast: i'm going to go with jesus here.

?Guest004 has changed his nick to ssick92

migri79: lol, jesus.

ssick92: wtf. you guys suck.

AfroToast: hi ssick92. er. i asked for constructive critique.

ssick92: you suck. you learn this song for how long on your guitar for what?

migri79: this guy obviously doesnt play

jesusknowskungfu: ...

AfroToast: I'd like to see you try.

ssick92: i'd like to see you try this song on gh2 (guitar hero 2, for those who dont know)

jesusknowskungfu: i knew it.

ssick92: i can play this song on bamf. what can you do? im a freaking rock god.

AfroToast: wow. srsly? lets see you bring that little plastic toy on a freaking stage and press your colorful fret buttons.. "ITS COOL GUYS. I PLAY THIS ON EXPERT" F OFF.

migri79: lol. u got that from somewhere.

jesusknowskungfu: vgcats.

ssick92: yeah its not like you'll ever bring your little wood machine up on any stages any time soon

AfroToast: HAHA. wait and see asshole.

Channel Admin AfroToast has booted ssick92 from #temp1

jesusknowskungfu: lol.

migri79: he had it coming

You have left channel #temp1




let me just say this right now. JUST BECAUSE YOU KNOW HOW TO PLAY A SONG ON GH, IT DOESNT MEAN YOU ARE A ROCK GOD. its a freaking plastic TOY. musical instrument my ass. and he had the nerve to flame me.

ssick92, you are NOT joe perry.

Tuesday, January 8, 2008

Damage =p

Past few weeks, i havent been using the xbox, and apparantly in my absence, some big stuffs been going on there. I just swinged (swinged? swang? swung. ahh.) over to http://www.ctrlaltdel-online.com/ for my weekly perscribed (prescribed?) dosage, when i saw this.

Apparantly, Xbox Live was down for a period of time over the holidays. the servers couldnt cope with the load of the holiday season, and the service was down. but here's the best part. some loser tried to SUE microsoft. for guess how much.

USD5,000,000.00

i know! http://www.gamespot.com/news/6184323.html

lol. i have only one thing to say to them: "the agency will arrive soon."



p.s: spell check sucks.

Monday, January 7, 2008

Major Sorry

i'm sorry. i know i said i'd post asap, but things have been really hectic recently

havent been sleeping late recently so been blogging less. and the internet here is really unstable wirelessly.

anyway. here's what has happened recently.


DECEMBER 28th

We moved from Castle Green to Serangoon. i now live at serangoon central, block 201. zheng hui lives just 7 blocks down, at 208. i wasnt there at the move though. I spent that day at job training. but when i returned to the new house.. shit. BOXES, just freaking EVERYWHERE. its like the house is BOXTOPIA. i lived in BOXVILLE. i had to like climb over boxes to get to the toilet, dig a little tunnel in the boxes to get to the bedroom and change, then swim in Lake Box to get to the dining room to eat. then sleep in little boxes in the bedroom. lol.

IN BETWEEN

Well, more job training, but at the same time, the place is clearing up more and more. so its good.

JANUARY ZERO/ DECEMBER 31st

yay. new year and such. had plans to meet up with the starbucks group, but then thanks to someone else's bbq event being planned earlier, THAT I WAS NOT INVITED TO. they all couldnt make it. so i spent new years at home. by my self. in the kitchen. with my mom. and the tv.

but well, mom let me finish the gin, so there was GnT, and she also bought some breezers. so i guess it was okay.

JANUARY 3rd

First day of work. I woke up at 2:30. the bus came at 3:50 to pick me. there were already a whole bunch of people there. (it was a private bus.. or more of a mini van)

so we got to the airport at about 4+, work began at 6:40. we had to wear these orange shirts.

lol. anyway. i was stationed at T2, the departure hall. its surprisingly easy to spot someone that looks lost. it just feels like they're lost. anyway. what happened today was that 7 flights were diverted to Terminal 3. and so my main mission was to direct those who were at the wrong terminal to t3.

there were like 20? i thought most of them would be excited that they could take off at the new terminal, but most were actually pissed. it was something like this:

ME: Good Morning, can i help you find your check in counter?
PAX: oh yes, that would be great,
ME: okay, can i have your flight number?
PAX: okay uh, its SQ 3...
ME: SQ318?
PAX: ah, yeah.
ME: I see, well, SQ318, bound for London Heathrow right? its been moved to terminal three.
PAX: WHAT?!
ME: im sorry, it was a last minute thing. you see, our new terminal is scheduled to open on January the Ninth, so we're doing a dry run today, to make sure the airp.....
PAX: OH NICE. so WE get the FREAKING DRY RUN.
ME: You were supposed to be informed, i see you didnt recieve the call?
PAX: OF COURSE WE DIDNT RECEIVE A CALL. WHY WOULD WE BE HERE OTHERWISE?
ME: im really sorr..
PAX: When was the flight changed?!
ME: Just today i think. i was just told this morning. (lie)
PAX: Nice. very nice.
ME: Our new terminal is a really nice place, im sure you'll enjoy it. can i show you the way?
PAX: Get om with it.
ME: okay you just follow the sign to the skytrain........

thats what happened. well. it kinda sucked, being shouted at by people you dont even know. but it was interesting none the less. lol.

JANUARY 7th

today. back to manfield to pick up my shirt and my name tag. then down to the airport to get my airport pass made. (unrestricted access to transit and dufry area!!!) whole thing took forever. thank goodness there are people like danah in the world. makes everything funnier. lol. danah is my colleague. he's doing a degree for mass com in melbourne. he's 23. and he thinks desmond is gay. dont have a pic. but i can show you two of my other colleagues.

these two are from mayflower.


This here is Alton. He's uber busy. he has like 214301 part time jobs a day, and he's always talking to some boss/colleague/client on his phone. he just graduated from his Normal Acad course in Mayflower secondary and is currently waiting for his 'O' level results. Alton is 17, and currently single.


this is Alif. he points out the most obvious things. he also finds the smallest things interesting/funny. he never tells lies. he's not christopher. he's the kinda guy that girls don't realise they want to be with until they know him. he graduated from Mayflower last year, (2006) and is currently taking tourism in ITE. he's working here attached with ITE for his course. he's not stupid. when you talk to him, you know. and i just want to state here, just because someone is from ITE doesnt mean they're stupid. a lot of my colleagues are from ITE and they're way better than i am in many ways. so yeah. Alif is currently single..

.. i think.


I have no picture of danah, dinah or desmond. i'l try to get one on wednesday.


CURRENT


well. PAE sucks. i have so much planned out. but stupid PAE is hogging up all of her time. time is running out. and.. i dont know. i think i'll blow it.

did i mention jamming? well, it was okay. we worked on dream on some more. no recording though. sam kept messing up the recording some how. he kept doing stupid things like shouting into the mike, or making "farts" with his bass. so we have no recording of the song. keith was there though, he did one copy of How you remind me. it was okay i guess. im not putting it up here though.

psh. its 23:13 and i havent showered yet. so.. i guess im off. come back soon. i'll do my best to give you posts.

Friday, January 4, 2008

STILL ALIVE

I AM NOT DEAD. i had no internet for awhile, thats all. trust me. i'll post up tomorrow night.

meanwhile, listen to this