Thursday, December 27, 2007

it said meow.

The lotus elise is gone.

but i found a cat.



I tried to talk to it, but it ignored me. i know you're thinking: but cats dont talk. yeah i know. i mean, it didnt even bother to look at me when i talked to it. it was wary of me at first, but then it labelled me harmless, then COMPLETELY ignored me. except for the occasional glare.

I saw it when kenneth made me let kenneth into the estate. (i think if i used "him" you'd think it was the cat.) KENNETH wanted to SURPRISE someone. but SOMEONE didn't let him UP INTO her BLOCK.

HA. KENNETH.

anyway. they ended up on the phone. for 45 MINUTES. then he left. while on the phone. at the same time, we bumped into men shing, WHO WAS ALSO ON THE PHONE. so i flipped open my phone and pretended to talk to someone.

ANYWAY. Apparantly, the cat is responsible for scaring KENNETH's significant other, so KENNETH went, and SCARED the cat. so the cat got scared, and SLIPPED INTO MY SHIRT. but then it jumped out because it realised i wasn't a curtain. or something. then it glared at me. ingrate.


ANYWAY AGAIN. i went for my job training just now. but i have a cold, so im not going to type anymore. maybe tomorrow, after my QSM training. (Quality Service Management)

kthxbai.

Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 Random Things

I was lying on my bed, thinking of what to put on my blog later tonight, and i just lay there, then i thought, maybe something random. but not flying out of a turtle suspended in mid air by a gigantic shopping cart kind of random, i wanted something different. so i came up with a little list of random things.

#1: Random Song I Sang In The Shower Today:

Far Away, by Nickelback. I only sang the chorus though, and really softly, because i was afraid my house mates might hear me. i think i hit the tune okay though.

#2: Random Thing My Mother Did Today:


Nagged at me to go take a shower.

#3: Three Random Items Sitting On My Desk Right Now:


A Rubik's Cube, recently solved, by yours truly.
A Yoyo, whose string has been recently snapped, again, by yours truly.
A Red Paperweight, that has sat unmoved for years.


#4: Random Quote From Random Digital Media:
"KNOCK DOWN TREES WITH YOUR JUMBO COCK!!!!"
Its the subject for a Penis Enlargement Ad. I don't know how they got my email address, but I saw that in my Gmail inbox while waiting for imeem to send me the confirmation for the next item on my list.

#5: Random Song I Played On A Random Instrument:


I did this on my guitar. just one guitar, but i recorded over myself. i improvised it, so i can't recreate it, and there are prolly some parts that dont sound right. mebbe i'll do a better one another time. NB: Listen to it with head phones. i tweaked the LR Balance, so close your eyes and ignore the buzzing sound. apart from the buzzy thing, i think its good.

#6: Random Page from a Random Book:


Its sideways. I don't know why. I know how to fix it but im lazy. psh. Anyway, its tablature for Canon in D, which leads me to come up with the next Random thing:

#7: Two Random Songs I've Been Obsessed With:

Canon in D, Composed by Johann Pachelbel

Far Away, by Nickelback

#8: Random Thing I Saw On My Way Out Of The House Recently:

Its a Lotus Elise. Parked in my Estate. Isnt she a beauty? I have a few more pictures, but this is the best angle.

#9: Random Thing On My Mind Right Now:

My feet are cold.

#10: Random Request To My Readers:

It would be great to see someone else's answers to these questions, and re-reading this, i get the feeling people will doubt me, so i assure you, I CAME UP WITH THESE, i did not copy them from anywhere anytime. THEY CAME FROM MY HEAD. okay bye now.



P.S: I have blue and clear versions of that red paperweight too.

Thursday, December 20, 2007

First Post

i just realised this is the first post on my blog that i put up when the sun is still up. all my other posts are around midnite and stuffs/ lol. so anyway.

i finally bought jeans. and a shirt. i thought i'd upload pictures, but maybe i'll hold them off until i've worn them out first. that'll be interesting. no spoiling the surprise. who'd ever think i'd buy jeans? lol i've been anti-jeans for god knows how long..

hm

i don't know what else to type

um.
prolly something about it being daytime. im gonna go do something else. lol

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

At Long Last..

I finally did it. I got a job.


found it in the papers, then responded to the ad. didnt know what i was doing at first, it just said customer service, no company nothing, so yeah. today, i went to apollo centre to apply for it. apparantly i will be guiding people around the airport, i.e 'hello sir, do you need help getting around? where are you trying to go? i see, here, you want to go towards the mc donalds and keep going straight."

sounds pretty fun. im working for caas too, i think there are benefits there, but im not sure.. anyway, the guy told me to choose a shift. they had 4. i chose shift 1 and four. that means, i'll be working from 12 am to 6 am (shift 4) then 6am to 12pm (shift 1). well, i marked out that i'd prefer then, i dunno if they'll give me the full 12 hours though, i could use the extra cash. they had free transport for shifts one and three, but i start at shift four, so yeah. no transport for me. pah. who needs transport. lol.

so there you have it. i can't think of what to review next, why don't you drop a comment, tell me what you want to see on my blog. i'll do my best to put it on.

EDIT: i just finished reading something that im wishing i didnt. it may not be so bad though, thanks to that, i finally got some words for a tune that we put to long's chords. it goes something like this:

Verse 1

Each day,
I tread down
your way.
Hoping to see if you can

Give me
that hope to
go on,
i fear today you've gone

PRECHORUS

too far,
you don't even know that
I hurt,
(8 syllables here)

CHORUS

yeah. i can't continue it yet, i got the tune for it, there are the words, i don;t know if the band will take it though, its kinda emo. but oh well. we'll see how it goes.

Friday, December 14, 2007

Pure Genius.

My mum is the ultimate persuader. She guilted me into following her to gym today.. uh yesterday. it was harsh.

it was at planet fitness, i thought; pah, its just two hours. how hard can it be?

i was so wrong. the first course/lesson thing was what they called Combat Yoga. its basically Yoga, but a bit more fast paced, with some kick boxing elements added in. like: [quote instructor]

Let me see your cobra, okay, swing your left leg forward, warrior stance, and.. guard. okay ready. right leg forward, do this: (demonstrates) right jab, cross, jab, round house. good. repeat.. 4 more counts. 2 more to go, one last one, and.. warrior.


etcetc. it was harsh enough. holding yourself in said stances are amazingly difficult. for example, let me show you an illustration of the different poses we had to hold. try them. then you'll understand.


This is the Bow Pose. basically, you lie flat, pull your legs up, then grab it with your hands. then you lift up your chest and your knees, while trying to hold your thighs together. good luck. this is a hard one.


This is the Warrior Pose. looks easy? try it. whichever leg is behind you, its heel may not touch the ground. it may be easy at first, but we had to hold it for a loong time. try it. no cheating, hold your arms straight over your head, close to your ears.


this is the Triangle Pose. i don't know why they call it the triangle pose. it doesnt even look like a triangle. anyway, you get here form your warrior pose. basically, your hands come forward (thats a relief) then you touch the floor/ankle/shin, depending on whether you have hamstrings, then turn to a side, bringing one hand up straight above your head. yup. hold your hand there again.


ah. the half moon. this is not easy at all. from your triangle, while holding your arm in the air, twiddle forward. (yes, twiddle. i dont know what that means, it just sounds right.) twiddle forward until your floor arm is in front of you. for normal people who have hamstrings, you can bend your leg. then, slowly lift up your back leg such that you are balancing on a foot and a hand. hold it there for 10 more counts.




Alas, now that you're done, do the whole thing all over again, but for the other side. i.e right instead of left.



so had enough of combat yoga yet? okay. on to boot camp. yes, thats what the class is called. its called boot camp, and it is nothing like a boot camp. (boot camps are easier.)

The class starts out with you marching on the spot, and to emphasize how difficult the program is, i will include a log of what the instructor says, along with my thoughts.

ready? go.

(Club mix song is heard with a steady beat)
Over-Enthusiastic Instructor (OEI): "Okay hello everyone, welcome to boot camp. lets go, march, on the spot. go!"


I begin to march, arms stiffly by my side, to the beat of the song

OEI: "eh c'mon lah. swing your arms enthu abit leh, this is not the army!"

I continue to march, arms still by my side, limp.

OEI:(to class)" okay ready step touch, go!"

Me(Thinking):"whats a step touch?"

everyone else is a regular, so they start step touching.

Me: ah, there you go, step touches. (step touches are wear you step your right leg to the right, touch it with your left foot, bring your left leg to the left, touch with your right foot, repeat.)

OEI: (in time with the song) "aaand march.. (time lapse) aand step touch. (time lapse) aaaand... march on the spot, ready, steps,"

at this point we step up and down a "step" that we previously placed infront of us. its like an artificial staircase step, so we can do step ups.

OEI starts counting, i.e: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 step, 1,2,3, march 5,6,7, step... etc. alternating between stepping, marching, and step touching.

at this point, OEI's enthusiasm has caught on to me and i think. hey, boot camp isnt so tough, look i can do what you can do!!! and i start smiling and stepping and bouncing to the beat. i continue to think: see? good music makes anything bearable. then i think hey, boot camp is fun!

i almost continue to think of more ways to emphasize how fun boot camp is, but i am interrupted by the OEI.

OEI: okay everyone ready, and left leg on the step, and single squats go!

at this point, we all put one leg on our raised steps, and do squats

8 squats later, i think wow. that was intersting, whats next? and i begin to get off the step,

OEI: bottom half!

everyone stays on the steps and does half squats. no, half squats are not easier. bottom half means this: okay. uh. let me teach you how to do it. its easier that way.find a slightly raised surface, put one leg on it, do a squat, but not all the way down. just half way down, choosing a point whereby it is moth uncomfortable and unnatural to stay in. this is your go-to point. from here, do squats, but don't go back to the fully standing position, only half squat from your go-to point, down, go-to point, down. etc.

i join in. and i realise: JESUS CHRIST THIS IS HARD.

after 8 counts (btw, for the half squats, and essentially all half manouvers, each count is twice as long and we spend more time in our go-to point.)

OEI: "single squats! carry on, 2nd set!"

back to single squats

ME(thinking): WHY ARENT WE DONE YET?

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!

8 counts later

OEI: 2 more sets, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!

8 counts later

OEI: Last set, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!!!1!

8 counts later

ME: (thinking) FINALLY

OEI: Right heel off the ground, aaaand, SQUAT!

here, we do this really painful thing, where we do standard squats ( with the exception of the left leg on the raised platform) but standing on the tips of your toes on your right foot. this really hurts. try following this.

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF

(yes, we do the half squat for this too. keep that heel in the air.)

8 counts later

OEI: 3 more sets, and SINGLE SQUATS!! keep that heel in the air, do not break your momentum! Just imagine you wearing high heels! for the guys can only imagine lah, unless you got wear before, lol

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF

8 counts later

OEI: 2 more sets, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!

8 counts later

OEI: Last set, and SINGLE SQUAT!

8 counts later

OEI: BOTTOM HALF!!!1!

8 counts later

ME: OHMYGODWHYDIDITAKETHECLASSMYCALFISBURNINGHALPMEPLZOMGWHY

OEI: Aaaand, hold that squat (stay in go-to point)

OEI: okay, alternate heels!

this is where we hold that half squat, and alternate which heel goes up or down.

OEI: Aaand, right leg on the step!

here we repeat the whole thing, right down to the alternate heel part, all for the other leg. so, following me so far?

(timelapse)

OEI: okay! BOTH HEELS UP!

ME: dies.

OEI: and SQUAT

yes. we do 4 sets of squats and half squats for that too.

timelapse

my god, i'm bored. are you bored? did you try it? if you did, you prolly can't read this. prolly lying on the floor somewhere. any way, after that, we did some arm muscle thing involving resistance belts, which also involved 4 sets of singles and halfs times 5 multiplied by both sides plus extra and another type which i can't remember because i think i was half conscious.

but dinner was worth it.

oh god i can still taste the pasta. but that, thats another story. come back tomorrow, i'll tell you about the pasta.

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Where do we go now?

Here, check this out: patient, it takes a while to load.,



There you have it. Classic awesomeness personified.



SWEET CHILD OF MINE
Guns N' Roses



WHAT IS IT:

Sweet Child is a song. It is a great song. To be precise, "Sweet Child o' Mine" is a song by the rock band Guns N' Roses. It was released on their debut album, "Appetite for Destruction" on 21st Jul, 1987. "Sweet Child o' Mine" was Guns N' Roses' first number-one single on the Billboard Hot 100, spending two weeks at the top spot in September 1988.

WHY ITS GREAT:

Well, first off, its great because it was an accident. The band's guitarist, slash, was just messing around, doing 'string skipping exercises'. when the rythm guitarist, Izzy, improvised some chords, and their Vox, Axl, sang out a poem he had written. I quote from one of their interviews (speaking is Duff McKagan, their Bassist):

The thing about 'Sweet Child,' it was written in five minutes. It was one of those songs, only three chords. You know that guitar lick Slash does at the beginning? It was kinda like a joke because we thought, 'What is this song? It's gonna be nothin', it'll be filler on the record.' And except that vocal-wise, it's very sweet and sincere, Slash was fuckin' around when he first wrote that lick.

So there you have it. they accidentally made a hit. the intro lick is THE most memorable lick of anyone who lived in the era. as soon as you hear that lick, you feel this warm fuzziness inside and you think: "alright! Sweet child, i know this song! This band rocks!" the guitars are awesome, and the vocal skills are amazing. the lyrics to the song are great. I'm not sure what it means, but Wikipedia tells me its about his girlfriend, and eventual wife. there are so much more, but for those non-oldie fanatics, im sure you're bored, so i leave this section with a final note. this song got #37 for the top 100 Greatest Guitar Solos.


WHY IT SUCKS:

i hate this section when i review stuff i like. pah. anyway, i guess the vocal skills are hard for some to appreciate. to most, it may sound whiney. but that was the style of the era, and this is one of the best. also, the song doesn't make much sense in the end. the "where do we go now" part seems out of place, and is only good because time has made it so. also, the most commonly heard version of the song is shortened. As Axl Rose said in an interview:

I hate the edit of 'Sweet Child o' Mine.' Radio stations said, "Well, your vocals aren't cut." "My favorite part of the song is Slash's slow solo; it's the heaviest part for me. There's no reason for it to be missing except to create more space for commercials, so the radio-station owners can get more advertising dollars. When you get the chopped version of 'Paradise City' or half of 'Sweet Child' and 'Patience' cut, you're getting screwed

so yeah. most people dont know the full song, and that really sucks. cuz, you're getting screwed. on a light hearted note. i hate the solo. ITS FREAKING DIFFICULT TO SELF TEACH. but pah. all good solos are like that.


MY RATING:

I'd give it 4.5 stars out of five, but i don't have that .gif, so there you have it. 4 out of 5.


SHOULD I, AND WHERE CAN I GET IT:

I merged these two sections because i have the same answer for them. I have no idea. you definitely SHOULD get it, but i don't know where you can. its really rare. i ripped mine from my dad's CD collection, back in the states. i don't know where you can get it here in singapore. try e-bay? lol.

Tuesday, December 11, 2007

Carlos Santana Goodness

I have a song for you here, wait for it to load. it takes awhile.



This is Awesome.

Into The Night
Carlos Santana featuring Chad Kroeger from Nickelback



WHAT IS IT:

Into the night is a song. A song is an arrangement of musical notes played together, sometimes with accompanied by singing. Into the night is a song by Carlos Santana (Maria Maria; Just Feel Better), with Chad Kroeger (How You Remind Me; Rockstar). Into the Night is about... well, i don't know what its about, but the music video features a man about to jump off a roof when he sees a girl dancing. He falls for her immediately (yeah right) and starts to follow her like the creep he is. Eventually he follows her to a club where he watches her dance, and at the end they dance together. Meanwhile, on a completely unrelated topic, Kroeger and Santana play on the roof of a building. This song is the lead single for Santana's latest album, Ultimate Santana.



WHY ITS GREAT:

Santana plays another awesome solo. No questions asked, its great. Fits perfectly with the song, and the awesome melody, that goes great with Chad's trademark growl. Santana's playing style is strongly latin, and the fast-paced bongo thing fits perfectly with that. There is this awesome breakdown when santana's solo comes in, with the awesome wah-wahing. The whole song in general is the kind of song that stays in your head. (sing: Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay..)


WHY IT SUCKS:

It doesnt really have a climax point. Santana's solo is kick ass, but doesnt quite stand out. its kind of like alot of the same thing. this makes it seem like it goes by really quickly, and it doesnt make much of an impact. The song is probably best only for background music for a late-night party or something. Another thing. Does radio really need more Chad Kroeger? The song sounds like any Nickelback song you care to mention. Quote:
Into The Night will only sound fresh to those who have spent the past 6 years in a cave.


SHOULD YOU GET IT?

Yes. so maybe its not his best track, but since Ultimate Santana combines hits from his recent albums, as well as classics from his band at its prime, a compilation of the guitar master’s best work is a must for any pop fan without Santana's previous work in their collection. Even if you don't like the song, the other tracks in the album im sure you'll love, that is.. if you appreciate good guitar skills.



MY RATING:

When Carlos Santana originally hooked up with Nickelback's Chad Kroeger for 2002’s “Why Don’t You & I,” Kroeger’s voice was relatively new to radio, and Santana playing back up for superstar singers still seemed like a somewhat fresh concept. A dozen Nickelback hits and two similar Santana sets later, the new single “Into The Night” seems to be chock full worn out ideas, but a whole bunch of worn-out ideas can come together beautifully. This is a track that will linger in your playlist for a month or two.


SO WHERE CAN I GET IT?

I got mine from the states, so i don't know where you can get it here, but I'm sure CD stores like CD-Rama and Sembawang will have it. Its quite a big album for santana. again, as a last resort, im sure you can use e-bay.





and there you have it, Into The Night by Carlos Santana, Featuring Chad Kroeger from Nickelback. come back soon, i'm going to review Sweet Child of Mine, By Guns and Roses, a popular oldie.

Monday, December 10, 2007

Want some jam? We made it ourselves.

It was a good day at Tiet yesterday. we managed to completely learn one song and perform it. Here. this is the final copy. How You Remind Me, as made popular by: Nickelback. by this point, our vox has already mutilated his voicebox, so the quality is sub par. nah actually i think the whole song needs some work. but hey. its a good start eh? eh?





Its not on autoplay, so oyu have to hit play yourself. listen to it. its good.

anyway, tomorrow im gonna review Into The Night, by Santana feat. Chad Kroeger.


EDIT: lol, i was just asking our VOX about his singing, check this out.

AfroToast - Nothing is True; Everything is Permitted says:
why do you sound like you have a blocked nose?

Tf says:
im using a constipated approach to this song

Tf says:
so

Tf says:
after time

Tf says:
when i have lesser strenght

Tf says:
i get lesser constipation to make it nice

AfroToast - Nothing is True; Everything is Permitted says:
okaay.

Tf says:
so it sound blocked

AfroToast - Nothing is True; Everything is Permitted says:
im definitely going to quote that.

Tf says:
wtf no!

Saturday, December 8, 2007

Control

Its been a loong time since i last came online, as usual. first, apologies to doreen, you have... 4 different rants shouting at me to come online, but hey, your camera worked in the end didn't it? anyway, my lateness is not without reason. i bestow upon my readers, the first page of our comic, "Control". Story by me, art by uh.. i'm not sure if he wants me to put his name up, if he okays it, i'll edit it in.


so yeah. thats the comic's first page. im looking for a webhost to host it, plan to update that regularly, and hope to publish a full fledged comic book somewhere along the way. consider this a market test. we got 5 pages down, but this is prolly the only one you'll see on my blog. the rest will be on the main website, which i have yet to start up. so yeah. i'd like to release my story plan, but you guys just gotta wait and see. i think some people out there already know what i want to do with these characters.


hm
anyway, looking forward to tiet studios tomorrow. bringing my laptop, maybe upload some sound files. and i think i'm gonna try and review a song. perhaps an oldie, maybe not. i'll think about tomorrow.