Wednesday, October 31, 2007

COOKIES

Yesterday's review neglected cookies. today's review is about cookies. well, its not really a review. more of a homage. alas. Ode to Cookie?




WHAT IS IT:

you dont know what a cookie is? A cookie (or cooky) is a small, round, flat cake. a small, round, flat cake of GOODNESS. give cookie. There is nothing better than the anticipation that comes from the smell of fresh baked Chocolate Chip Cookies. quote: "lawl. cookies own. nice black round and sexy"

WHY ITS GOOD:





WHY IT SUCKS:


Who stole the cookies?

MY RATING:


okay. i know theres no where to get and should i get, but i get to be lazy right? mm.. ill edit it in another time.

Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Eat Fresh

I tried and tried and tried again, but i just could NOT get a nice photo. the photo just couldnt do it justice. Of them all, here is my best shot.




SUBWAY. Singapore's only Sub-Sandwich franchise.

okay. so maybe the photo isn't mine. my photos really sucked. didn't really put alot of heart to this review. maybe i'll edit it later.


WHAT IS IT:
hm. how do i explain a sub-sandwich.. wikipedia says:

A submarine sandwich or sub is any of various sandwiches made on a long roll (usually up to 12" long by 3 " wide) or baguette (called "French bread" or a "submarine roll" in the U.S.), so called because of its shape. The contents typically include meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and various condiments, sauces or dressings.


so there you have it. This particular Sub-Sandwich from subway, is their meatball marinara. what you do, is you go up to the counter, tell them what type of bread you want, tell them what you want in it, i.e meatball marinara, subway melt, etc. then, you tell them what veggies/toppings you want, then you tell them what condiments you want. il et: Honey Mustard, Chipotle Southwest, etc etc. Following which, you specify what type of meal you want. meals consist of varying sizes of drinks, and a proportionate number of cookies. (oh the cookies...)


WHY ITS GOOD:

Well, many ways. lets try a list.

  1. Its healthy. =)
  2. Its a superb combination of meat, lettuce, and EVERYTHING. seriously. the GODLIKE blend of the meats, with the melted cheese oozing upon it, holding down the lettuce and pickles, smothered by a THICK layer of sauces, all held together with a Soft, spongy dough toasted to perfection, with that crispy outer layer that crumbles as you sink your teeth into that ohh so great.. uh. sandwich.
  3. *ahem* theres also the desert. oh god the desert. the cookie. cookie.. mmmmm. must... have... cookie.... ahem. anyway, the cookie. the epitome of godlike-ism. you pull the cookie out of the bag and the swirling aroma of the sweet blend of vanilla and chocolate waft out, intoxicating you, numbing your senses. you put it to your mouth. you sink your teeth into the cookie and its soft and chewy texture surprise you. as you pull away, the semi-solid chocolate chip stretches out of the cookie, leaving a trail of molten chocolate..... uhm. excuse me.

WHY IT SUCKS
:

uhm. this isn't easy. lets see. ah. you need to be REALLY hungry to eat there. there is no way ANYONE can stomach more than one footlong in one sitting. "so?" you may ask, "i'll just get their six inch." no. the six inch really isnt enough either. part of the reason why the footlong is so much more filling than the six inch is probably because after a while, you get tired of the same taste throughout the whole sub. one thing you could try, is have a friend order a different footlong, and trade halves. thats nice. oh and one more thing. bring lots of money.


SHOULD I GET IT?

yes. no doubt about it. yes. this is something you have to try at least once in your life. as keith would say, "WTF WHY THE HELL NOT?!"

MY RATING:


OKAY, COOL. WHERE CAN I GET IT?

hm. if you live near AMK hub, you're in luck. They just opened a branch there not too long ago. there's also another one at i think united square. or something. im not sure. there are many around, use the comments, share locations. use google. stuff like that.

Saturday, October 27, 2007

*ahem* Now, back to our regularly schedu... SENTRY!

the stupidest thing happened to me today. there i was in my bed, sleeping like any other person, except unlike any other person, i was dreaming of Team Fortress 2. yup. great game, go get it. i'd review it but im too busy playing it. anyway, snoozing along, then my alarm went off. in slow motion, i woke up, thought-screamed: ZOMG SENTRY!!! then kicked my blanket off, and threw my pillow at my phone alarm, all while diving off my bed to avoid alarm fire.

yup. im not kidding. for those of you who don't know, sentries are something the engineer class in TF2 can build, usually they put them in blind corners, so when you're like a scout or something, and you're turning that corner, suddenly BEEP BEEP BEEP! and then you eat lead while the engineer laughs at your face.. or.. whats left of it.

so yeah. well. im gonna go back to TF2 now, so. i leave you with thi.. ZOMG SENTRY!

Thursday, October 25, 2007

And now, for something completely different.

i read your blog alot. more than any other. i may not talk to you much. but.. here's a sigh. i don't want you to go. if i could i'd stop you. but.. its not for me to choose. its still your choice to go. in these past few months i felt so many things for you. its my fault i didnt do anything. but then again. what difference would it make. this.. this is for the greater good. i could have had everything, but i chose not to. i should have said something. but.. no. that would do no good for you. that would be selfish. go then. don't let me tie you down. don't let anything tie you down. here's something i'm still writing. maybe i can't tell you now, but someday you'll know. this is for you.

this is the end.
i should have tried, at least tried to change it.

its not my choice.
theres just too many things, too much to deal with

what could i have done.
i had no say at all.
these lines i've drewn
you had no part at all.

is this my fault?
am i to blame
? who am i to blame?

this is my fault.
i had so many chances, almost every day.

look what i have done,
i've made a mess of it all.
these things that i do,
did they matter at all?


Tuesday, October 23, 2007

JAVA CHIP!

Okay... first post. here goes.








I bring to you all today a marvel of man's coffee making abilities. for today's show and tell. Lo and behold, the upmost majesty, the ultimatum. The purest bliss. Be awed by:


Starbucks' JAVA CHIP Frappucino

hm, re-reading that. the picture is somewhat anti-climatic. but hey, with half the world's best tastes, it can afford to look frumpy. okay. how am i gonna review this. This concoction here has been around long enough to have millions of reviews written about it. its too good for words. but well, sitting at the bus interchange at northpoint waiting for 851 gave me some time to think about it. lets try this:


WHAT IS IT:


So, we all love starbucks' Frappucinos now don't we. now take all that frothy goodness and that occasional bits of crunchy ice we all love, and that rich semi-sweet coffee blend, topped with that white-gold crown of whipped cream, and throw it away.. well, not quite. throw it into the blender, thats right. then throw in a bunch of chocolate chips, grind it all up into your frappucino, and voila! what? sounds too simple? well it kinda is, but hey, you didnt think it up now did you?


WHY ITS GREAT:

Each time you put your mouth to that straw, and you pull out that thick frumpy-looking concoction, you pull up bits of ground chocolate chips, and that already god-like frappucino up to your mouth. now, as you sit it there, relishing the sweet taste of the coffee, you feel those chocolate chips in there and you bite down on them. now that is adding texture to taste. you don't get that in the frappucinos. "that occasional bits of crunchy ice we all love" have no longer become occasional. ohh no. now they even taste good!


WHY IT SUCKS:

Well, I barely afford to drink it once a week. This baby costs a whopping S$7.50. That gets you decent eating at carl's jr. but then again, it is starbucks. S$7.50 is worth it, really. unless you're not making your own money yet, like me. so hey starbucks, maybe a student price hmm? wink wink nudge nudge.


SHOULD YOU GET IT?

yes! absolutely. while their prices are high, you should at least try it when you can. the java chip frappucino is truly a classic, something all coffee drinkers should try at least thrice.


MY RATING:

Highly Recommended! (gah, weird squares everywhere!)

this is something everyone who can should try. while it burns your wallet, every cent you pay goes straight for taste. Take their Grande size. Tall is too little and Venti is too much.


SO WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

every starbucks in the world stocks this. serious. if you live in the yishun area, [singapore] there is a starbucks hidden in a corner on the second floor, near world of sports. they have a big sign on the side but i doubt anyone notices it. lets see. north point... one fullerton... many more. oh and if theres one in the AMK area, that'll be nice to know. use the comment system!


(more weird squares? help!)

A Formal Apology

sigh. okay then.


Hi. My name is Afro Toast. you may know me from such blogs as: the loser joke blog, the poser emo blog, the squeaker flame blog, and many more. now. i don't know if anyone actually reads them, but if you do. hereforth i put forward my apology. I obviously did not uphold my promises of frequently updating. sometimes because i just didnt have anything to write, but mostly because i just couldnt be bothered.


ANYWAY. here is my final attempt at this blog thing. now, i review stuff. well, not exclusively, but you get the point. inspired from such blogs as: http://augtoberspectrum.blogspot.com (post photos!), http://watery-shitt.blogspot.com (more insights!), and many more, I, Afro Toast, hereby resolve to update this blog at least once a day..


..well lets be realistic. once a year?




pah. anyway. lets try kicking this off.